Winter’s Fall…

Something, that I wrote and remembered today, when thinking about an old friend who has passed on.
“If Spring can move past Winter’s fall,
And break the the grip of December.
Then hearts can pass through hell and back,
With no wounds left to remember.”

E. Syrdal 2010

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter’s Fall…

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    An uplifting thought, at what must have been a very troubling time. So sorry for your loss.

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Thanks DD. Yes it was. Ive been considering writing about him here. The circumstances of his death still haunt me. I wrote that poem in 1995 when it happened. Still bothers me to this day.

  2. rosie49 says:

    That is a lovely poem. The hopefulness of it reminds me of D.H.Lawrence poem, “The Little Ship.” I hope you do write about your friend.

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Thank you Rosie. I looked up Mr. Lawrence’s poem and read it. It does have a kindred ring to it. I’ll probably write about John. Events in my life recently have been subtle reminders of him. Too often closely related to things exclusive to him. When that happens it’s sometimes best to put it down in words. i’ll probably do it soon. Writing for me is very therapeutic, perhaps it’s time to set off the relief valve.

Leave a Reply

