So comes snow…..

“Not sure if it is the key, or the emotional attachment to the story, but this still gives me chills listening to it.

I posted that on FB shortly after seeing “The Hobbit” in the Theater for the 2nd time.

A few days later I posted this:

“This must be it:

As they sang the hobbit felt the love of beautiful things made by hands and by cunning and by magic moving through him, a fierce and a jealous love, the desire of the hearts of dwarves. Then something Tookish woke up inside him. And he wished to go and see the great mountains, and hear the pine trees and waterfalls, and explore caves, and wear a sword instead of a walking stick.”

 That passage has always stayed with me, even after reading it.

I read The Hobbit early in my lifetime. And again after High School and again after college.  It is a story that I have always been emotionally attached to.  It is a story about life.  Primarily the great question of whether we should sit comfortably in our homes and be content with such a life  OR venture out into the unknown in search of fortune and adventure…which is dangerous and scares the hell out of MOST of us.

Seeing it on the big screen, and so expertly done (in my opinion) brings that lump in the throat of a proud parent watching his child take it’s first steps.

I am tied to it.

My favorite passage from it, which I quote all the time is this:

So comes snow after fire, and even dragons have their endings.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit.

What an amazing line. Of course, Bilbo is talking about being in the Shire again after traveling back from Lonely Mountain..and surviving The Battle of the Five Armies.

But it has a special meaning that applies to everyday life. However bad it seems, it will pass.

I thought about it for a while and could not get this music and the idea of the story out of my head. Then it dawned on me…and I posted this.

So i think I’ve figured out why the song that the dwarves sing in the Hobbit sticks with me so much.

Of course you an extrapolate anything and make it fit your situation. But I think the similarity fits.

I saw the Hobbit with many of my friends who lived out of town.

In fact, very few people (Except for my immediate family and those whom I chose to call my family) live nearby anymore.

They live out of town, far out of town now, primarily because of one thing.

Katrina.

She came in, and smashed her way into our home. Took what she could and destroyed what she couldn’t. We all ran for our lives. As far as we could.

And since that day, like Thorin and Company, all we really want is to go home.

A lot of us had to make our homes elsewhere. Some of us made it back to the “vicinity” of home.

But it still doesn’t really feel like home.

So I guess New Orleanians have something in common with Dwarves from Middle Earth.

That really was quite a correlation to draw. But I believe it is true.

For me anyway.

 

HAPPY FRIDAY!

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So comes snow…..

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    It’s been so long since I read “The Hobbit” this makes me want to read it again.

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Excellent! You really should, DD. You’ll find that it will not be as “thickly worded” as it was the last time. At least that has been my experience each time I have read it. To date, it remains the book I have most “re-read” ever. I don’t normally go back and re-read my books. But that one is like visiting an old friend.

Leave a Reply

