Garden stroll…..

As walking through a gilded garden,
I happened upon a rose.
And thought, myself, while standing there
amongst the verdant trove.
That I should take her for myself,
and pluck her from her place.
And carry her away with me,
to gaze upon her face.
But as my hand reached out,
to cause this vulgar act.
My conscience whispered in my ear,
a deep and thoughtful fact.
That if I should remove this bud,
and keep it for myself.
I would gain but a single Rose,
and the Garden would lose its wealth.
So I drew back my hand and smiled,
A thought settling in my mind.
That the very same joy I found in her,
would be left for others to find.

Happy Friday, Everyone!

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden stroll…..

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    A nice thought indeed. Happy Friday!

  2. rosie49 says:

    I’m late to the party to comment for Friday, but I think this is a beautiful poem for this “right about now ready to explode” season. The trees and flowers are at the brink of full beauty here.

  3. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Now look at this little Gem back in your archives. I figured working on April might be appropriate. Love this Eric, now if you could only come over, and explain this to my children.

Leave a Reply

