A good man…or not..

“I put no stock in religion. By the word religion I have seen the lunacy of fanatics of every denomination be called the will of God. I’ve seen too much religion in the eyes of too many murderers. Holiness is in right action, and courage on behalf of those who cannot defend themselves, and goodness. What God desires is here [the head] and here [the heart] and what you decide to do every day will make you a good man…or not.”

I have my own ideas about religion. Sometimes I let them shine through, MOST of the time I keep them to myself.

I was raised Catholic. I left that path a long time ago…probably before I was even able to compose my thoughts on a piece of paper.

If you’ve never seen, Kingdom of Heaven, I encourage you to watch it. Though it centers, obviously, around The Crusades…it is an excellent example of how people view religion differently.  It also gives you a vastly different perspective on what happened during the Crusades, than we were ever taught in what passes for “History Classes” these days.

So much of History has been bent and shaped into what we want people to believe…and not about what actually happened there.  We are especially fond of ‘white washing’ people’s intentions to make them more noble….or more savage…than they actually were.

The scene I posted above is one of the core beliefs I have about religion.  Say what you will…in the end…You and you alone are responsible for what you do everyday.

On twitter, I’ve been seeing a lot of people finally speaking out about sexual abuse and mistreatment.

The type of person I am…I find it difficult to understand how Men can behave in such a way.  Is it really possible that some Men actually believe there is nothing wrong with this behavior? Or have they grown so familiar with the images and ideas that we foster in every day media and conversation, that they no longer recognize women as human beings?

As a Father..and having a daughter as well as a son. I continually am trying to calm myself about how their future will be.

Teach them both how to be like me…but to be themselves as well.

It’s like watching them waiting their turn to enter a Gladiator Arena. But it seems to be more dangerous than the one I entered..It seems…rigged.  The fight was never fair for anyone….but lately it seems almost laughable.

Sometimes you wonder if you overreact. If possibly you are imagining things are worse than they are.

Sadly, I believe I am not overreacting. Things are worse. This is not the same Arena I have been fighting in.

Technology has made it far more easy to be more cruel.

If there is one thing I want to teach them, however..it’s the message in that video clip there:

“Holiness is in right action, and courage on behalf of those who cannot defend themselves, and goodness”

As long as they can learn something like that…and put it into action. I think I can say I’ve accomplished something!

Happy Friday, Everyone!

 

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

