You don’t have to call me……

Dear people of earth,

Please stop telling me I don’t have to call you Sir or Ma’am when I am talking to you.

As in this exchange:

Customer: Do I need to be home for you all to do the repairs to my home?

Me: Yes, Ma’am.

Customer: I guess you will let me know when you need me to be here?

Me: Yes, Ma’am.

Customer: You don’t have to keep calling me, Ma’am.

I understand the old joke that it makes people feel old…but you know what:

It is necessary! This is one of the major problems with your planet. People don’t respect one another nearly enough.

And when one of you does…..10 of you try to find a reason why it is “not necessary”

I say Yes Ma’am/Sir to everyone…even people I’ve known for years. I even say it when I answer my own children at home. You know why? Because it has been so common-place for me to do it…maybe it will be for them too.

I know as long as my children are under my parental supervision, I will require them to say it.

Common Courtesy and Respect.

Give it freely and Demand it in return.

Sincerely,

ERIC

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You don’t have to call me……

  1. rosie49 says:

    Damn straight, you’re right.

  2. D. D. Syrdal says:

    I think the resistance to it is borne of the old class distinctions, when only the wealthy were addressed that way. Some people, not wanting to be treated deferentially out of a disgust for the upper classes, probably protest more. I would think it’s pretty standard down where ya’ll are, though 😉 It’s far less common among us Yankees. But I wholeheartedly agree that common courtesy needs to be taken out of mothballs and freely passed around.

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Thanks, DD! It just miffs me a little when people so casually want to remove a proper form of respect. In the long run…honestly…what does it hurt?

      It should be more common.

      And yes, some of us Southerners are just stubborn about it.

      😉

Leave a Reply

