Why I love Dr. Who…..

Why do I love Doctor Who?

I spent an amazing time this weekend geeking out with all of my friends. Dr. Who, the british Sci-fi classic, turned 50 years old Saturday and I was one of millions around the globe celebrating it!

To me, Doctor Who is so much more than a sci-fi show. It is a story about life. And most importantly it is story about Hope!

I remember seeing a few episodes when I was very young, and having no interest in them.

But a friend of ours suggested that I should watch the series from the 2005 reboot.

And after putting it off for a long long time, I did.

I was woefully unprepared for what I saw.

From about episode 2 of the first seaosn, I was hooked. I fell in love with the Character of “The Doctor” and I instantly became attached to his life!

I have never been so emotionally moved by a Television Show or Movie in my entire 41 years as I am when I watch this show.

I am moved to tears A LOT…and before this I would maybe get the lump in my throat but never full tears rolling down my cheeks.

I think mostly because I am “grown up” now, I have children and responsibilities. I know what sacrifice looks like and what it means.

And I know what it is like to lose hope, and find it again.

This show absolutely spotlights HOPE!

If frames and highlights the idea, that no matter how hard things get, there is always hope!

And that the universe is an innately “good place”.

And that you can always find someone who is willing to care.

And that belief in yourself and those around you, most of the time, pays off in the end. It shows you, that you don’t really ever have to deal with anything “alone”.

I was very happy and fortunate to get to take part in the festivities this weekend and to be part of an amazing community.

I look forward to the next episode and the long line of those to come behind it! New Doctors and new adventures in time and space.

It has been a FANTASTIC!! (number 9 will always be my favorite) voyage so far!

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I love Dr. Who…..

  1. Souldiergirl says:

    Well now I feel the need to check the dr out for myself

Leave a Reply

