Welcome Home

I’ve mentioned before that Hurricane Katrina took from me things that are irreplaceable.
Among those things were some of the deepest Friendships I have ever come to know.

This weekend, three of my dearest friends are traveling back to New Orleans to visit.

I wrote this in honor of them:

There is a comfort
On seeing your banner
On the horizon fluttering
From the highest Spires
Of the city you love
In the knowing…
Knowing there are people
Beyond those Gates
Who know your Heart
Who love your Spirit
Who can not wait
To hold you in their embrace
To clasp your hands in theirs
To say through their smiles
“Welcome Home.”

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome Home

  1. Have an awesome time with your friends:)

  2. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Wonderful, heartfelt evocative words. Have a great weekend!

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Thank you, DD. It has been great so far! Today is bittersweet. Seeing them again for Lunch at my house, then everyone leaves for home.

      There is one glittering piece of hope. One of them is considering moving back here. He has made up his mind to make it a priority and is actively looking for a job here to make it happen.

      All of my friends are men I believe are good role models for my kids …But he is a scientist as well as a good person. Both of my kids are very much into science these days. It would be especially good for him to be here to show where following that path can lead them.

  3. Chris says:

    So glad you could get together with your friends again. I hope your scientist friend does move back. 🙂

  4. Shelley says:

    It doesn’t matter how many times I read this, it feels even more powerful every time. It resonates so deep inside of me. You have such an amazing way of expressing emotions in your own way, that most of us feel…

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Thank you so much! The greatest compliment any poet can get is that their work touches someone that deeply. I’m honored you feel that way, Shelley. 🙂

  5. rachel says:

    i think i have a similar feeling every time i go home to visit. ❤️

Leave a Reply

