The tools are not broken…

The tools are not broken
I am no longer the warrior
As I was in ages past
I would not think to step
Into the thickest of danger
My shield is heavier
My visor sits too low
My sword carries
The weight of the
3 Worlds
And its edge has dulled
I am not used to surrender
I am not used to saying,
“As much as I wish I could, I can’t”
The tools are not broken
My ability to use them is
But I am the last line
I am the fail-safe
I am the final hope
My responsibility is strong
It pulls me down into the mud
Like a screeching daemon
It rings in my ears,
“I WILL BEAT YOU”
The Tools are not Broken
But,
It is getting harder to
Hold my ground.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

