The Verdant Haven

My place of brilliant sunshine

Oh bastion of weathered stones

And wind swept fields of lush grasses

A copse of trees on the hill in the distance

Shaking off Winter’s chill

Exploding in vibrant shades of color

Plumes of white clouds gather

Sparsely like dancers

Timidly gathering on

A vacant dance floor

The breeze tussles my hair

lifts my shirt against my back

And nudges me toward the open fields

Birds call on that same wind

A gentle melody begging me

To release my heart and let it float along

I undo the strings that hold me down

And drift.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Verdant Haven

  1. Chris says:

    Dreamy. Makes me want to be there.

Leave a Reply

