Farewell to Friends…….

Their Ships have Departed
White Sails dip beyond
The Golden Horizon
Wind at My Back
I watch until I can’t see
Then I watch some more
Near me
Their colored Banners flutter
In the Twilight Breeze
They’ll stay aloft
On the Ramparts of my Fortress
Where they are always Welcome
5 has once again become 1
And my Heart leaves
In 4 different Directions

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Farewell to Friends…….

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Hey DD! My very close friends who live out of state since Katrina left yesterday morning to back to their homes. Just a little bummed out, it is always so long between visits.

  1. Larysia says:

    Fantastic work, Eric!

    I was able to see the whites of the flags and blues of the ocean, the stone of the fortress! You’re great at placing the reader in the time and place, and most importantly, inside the character or subject of the poem. You can feel lonlieness and longing, but there’s something kind of beautiful about it. Maybe it’s the imagery.

    Take care!

    Larysia

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Thank you so much, Larysia! My heart is with them when they go. That’s the image I was hoping for!. Thank you so much for reading and letting me know what you think. It means a lot!! 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Touching words. Hope you can stay in touch across the miles.

  3. rachel says:

    so sweet. ❤️

Leave a Reply

