Shieldmaiden…

Her eyes are painted
with Porcelain Bravery
Bravado and Battlefield-Hardened
She wields Her Weapons
Sarcastic Razor-edged Wit
Impenetrable Oaken Confidence
Guarding Her breast
All the ambition Forged
Within Iron and Steel
Dark amber Flame, Her hair
Across Her shoulders
Her regal Mane
Unstirred by the Winds of War
Like so many before Her
Behind this buttressed bulwark
Lies a Warrior Heart
Broken and Battle-Weary
Enough of Scars and Sacrifice
Enough of Wounds and Wanting
Rain-soaked and Shell-shocked
She wanders
Seeking The Broken Path Home

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Shieldmaiden…

  1. Annie B says:

    I’ve met this woman.

  2. Annie B says:

    Reblogged this on Surrendering My Shield and commented:
    Oh my goodness do I feel as if I tripped and fell into a well of wonderful and magical words. If you love poetry as I do, please visit Eric’s blog.

    I am truly honored that he found my diary and takes the time to read my ramblings. I’ve never, ever considered myself a writer/poet – only a diarist. A woman with a mind full of words that need somewhere to land.

    I am so very grateful that I keep finding these treasures along this journey.

  3. Souldiergirl says:

    I love this so much

    • Eric Syrdal says:

      Its one of my favorites so far. I love to imagine Her strength. So very powerful. Thank you, SG.

      • Souldiergirl says:

        I love to imagine it too.

        • Eric Syrdal says:

          Lately, When I imagine Her, I see you. I hope things are going well for you, SisterHeart. Love and Respect. ❤

          • Souldiergirl says:

            That means more than I can say, this is one of the most beautiful pieces. Tired but well. So much love and respect to you too. Are you doing well?

            • Eric Syrdal says:

              Oh I’m doing well. And so very happy, of course, every time you visit me here!! It’s been raining a lot lately. But other than that I can’t say I should complain about anything…. I need to get back to this blog though..feels like I’ve been away too long.

              I loved the Inner*spired post you made. You definitely brought a tear to my eye on that one. I left you a thank you there, but I wanted to make sure you knew how much I appreciated and felt honored by it. Went back today and read it again and left a ❤. You are so very precious to me, Sisterheart. Thank you.

            • Souldiergirl says:

              Hi my friend. Sorry for the delay in response, been fighting a little somethin this week. You are so awesome soul brother. I felt truly and feel truly inspired by you, your words, experiences and spirit. And your continuous presence of course :))

            • Eric Syrdal says:

              Oh..I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well! I hope things are getting better. I’m so happy that I can inspire you…you have definitely inspired me.. I love your visits and I miss you when you’re gone. Love and respect, SisterHeart. 💜 I’ll see you again soon.

  4. Souldiergirl says:

    Have I mentioned how much I love this one? :))

  5. Souldiergirl says:

    Here reading and getting lost

Leave a Reply

