Fireborne….

I watch with jealous Eyes
Each Evening The Sun goes to Sleep with Her
My Western Sky is bathed in the Colors of Her Heart
I’ll stand Here, teary eyed and Heart pounding
Until the blanket of Night pushes cool and soothing against
My Face
My blood rises against My skin
The Iron responding to Her magnetic call
Remembering when She was curled around the Heart of
A Star
Pyrokenetic Thermonuclear Detonation
Each time She rises from Her ashes
She walks back into the world like a God
Trailing Phoenix down and Cinder
I feel Her Beauty
I know it exists
I feel it tearing its way through My DNA
I see Her fingerprints on the molecules in My Blood
An inferno raging through My Mind
I feel the creaking, groaning, rot-ridden scaffolding around My Soul
Giving way to Her
But My hands don’t feel the warmth of Her Blaze
I would commit my fingers to a life of Blistering Scars
To feel one moment, the flames under Her skin
and the Warmth of Her Breath on My Face
If She should speak My Name

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fireborne….

  1. Rita says:

    Another inferno of words my friend. The imagery is breathtaking.

  2. Chrissy says:

    wow, you did it Eric, this is actually the best piece I have ever read from you blew me away. wow. bravo you crusader you. bravo.

  3. Ooh! You did all the elements…didn’t realize that. Off to read. Beauteous words, Eric!

  4. moonskittles says:

    ” It is the east and Juliet is the sun” – I was reminded of it.. brilliant sparks within each word.
    Gorgeous elements poems! Looking forward to reading the other ones. 🙂

  5. rachel says:

    I would commit my fingers to a life of Blistering Scars
    To feel one moment, the flames under Her skin

    …beautiful. but this has to be my last one for the morning…i’ve GOT to get some work done!! i have so enjoyed reading your blog, eric!! looking forward to digging in again later. xo

    • Eric says:

      Very very very grateful for your visit this morning, Rachel. Please come back here as often as you like. I really enjoy sharing my work with others. it makes me happy that you’ve enjoyed it so much!
      All my best, I’ll see you again soon!
      XO

Leave a Reply

