Cendrillon A.D. 4037 – 3rd Terran Dynasty

It’s cold out Here
Starfields and solar radiation
Rumble of the Sublight Engines
Stale Air and canned Heat
The scratchy material of the Uniform
Can’t stand to raise My arm to Salute
I crave the open Air
To see the Stars under Natural Gravity
In the open Sky instead of behind
Pressure Compensation Glass
No Vertigo
No Spinning
No damage Reports
My Thoughts drift back
Last night
Imperial Palace
Mandatory Attendance
My Blood drags me to it
Makes me a VIP
Standing in the Receiving line
wanting to eat My Shoes
Anything but this
Handshaking on Auto-pilot
Engage, Dock, Undock, Disengage
Smile
Head-nod
What was his name?
Fuck it
Commotion at the Gates
Heads turning but I can’t see over the Sea
Of Human Ornamentation
My Chance to LightJump out of line
No course-plotting
Steady as She goes
She…
She…..
Who is that?
Tap my InfoNode, Left Ear, near lobe
Facial Recognition:database Failure:No File found
Intrigued
She’s lost in the shuffle
Skirt the edges of the crowd, listening for Chatter and Intel
She’s instantly popular, but no one has seen Her before
Don’t believe I could have forgotten Her
They’ll be looking for Me soon
to recall Me Back to the Line
Reengage Diplomatic Protocols
Smile, Nod
Handshake Auto-pilot
Engage, dock, undock, disengage
fuck that
She’s on a approach vector
Intercept Course plotted
Shit, She moves like a wisp of Cloud
Anti-grav? Repulsers?
4 inch heels, You idiot.
Proximity Alert!
Steady Now, Smile
Her accent?
Antarean.
No, wait…Victory Station, FarReach?
Pay attention
Take Her hand, light kiss on the top
Smile the size of Jupiter’s Spot
White Opera Gloves
Flesh at the top
Pink in Her Cheeks
dimple, left side
Is that Jasmin or Cardarrian Lotus?
Diamonds at Her throat, like Ice on Her Skin
Moves with Her
Lips parted, like She’s got something to Say
Eyebrows slightly raised
Fuck! Did She ask a question?
Music is starting, Slow driving Beat
Reverb bouncing back off the Courtyard walls
She lightjumps in
Closes to a few inches
Her hand out to the right in Mine, Palm to Palm
Other on my Upper Arm, Fingers getting tangled
in My Epaulets
Hate these damn things
My arm around the Small of Her back
1 2 3 – 4….1 2 3 – 4
Watch the medals!
She’s strong, biceps have definition
Not Money
Not Military
Not Nobility
Not My Concern…….
Her eyes are singularities, I keep getting sucked into them
Draws the lights from the walls
Easy, watch Her feet!
Shots fired, Port side
Fireworks you idiot
Replicas, Highly effective
Reds, Blues, Greens, Yellows
Her face is a rainbow
She’s smiling so fully, Did She move closer?
Proximity Alert
Deployment Alert!
Easy, back off
Maneuvering Thrusts at Station Keeping
Song’s ending…Sustained Note on Guitar…Hums to quiet
Chronographic Display, Upper end of the Great Hall
Faint booming of Chimes
Her face goes flat, Color lightjumps out
She curtsies
To Me?…Why?
Let Her hand go!
another Lightjump and She’s Across the Courtyard
Pursuit course?
Are you kidding?….
Almost fell on my Face
Stepped on Something….
Recovered nicely, bend over and get it
Hmmm…4 inch Heel
Wonder if a genecode Scanner can get Me a match?
Now, Look to the Scanner on My Desk in my Quarters
Scan Status: 85%
Guess I’ll know in about 30 minutes

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Cendrillon A.D. 4037 – 3rd Terran Dynasty

  1. Rita says:

    A totally galactic Cinderella! I love this. Your mind overwhelms me at times dude and that’s a GREAT thing.

  2. Souldiergirl says:

    Oh my goodness! I love this so much- you’re incredible. I was there, your words are a living scene I happily jump into.

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    This is amazing Eric. I love it! It took me on a wild ride. πŸ™‚

  4. moonskittles says:

    Ohhh wow.. so this is what will happen.
    Loved it, since I love to dance and your descriptions are perfect. πŸ™‚

  5. rachel says:

    i’m smiling ear to ear. best cinderella eva!

  6. Purpleanais says:

    This! This is just so real! I lived it, every bit of it I visualised, tasted. Fan-fucking-tastic

Leave a Reply

