Probably the Dark….

I ran to the edge of the forest
And howled into the dark
But your Soul did not Answer
Only the wind
And the laughing of Coyotes
I used my last piece of Fire
days ago
watched it die in my hands
Saw the tiny thread of smoke
drizzle skyward
ember fading to black
it’s amazing how many Stars
You can see
while you stand shivering
Your arms wrapped around you
Holding yourself tight
The sun hasn’t risen here
in so long
I’ve forgotten what Your Heart
Used to look like
I’ve got a torn, black and white
photograph
But I can’t see your face
Could be time
Could be the tears
It’s probably the Dark

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Probably the Dark….

  1. Geetha B says:

    Amazing write Eric. We were both in forests and with some animal near us it seems in poetryland today but for me it was on the funny side of the egglife. I hope you are well

  2. Rita says:

    Omg I could feel the urgency as I read this. It moved me along so deeply that I felt like I’d come to the edge of a cliff when it finished. Eric, this is outstanding!!! Love, love, love it.

  3. Fantastic, this is fantastic!

  4. Love this! Well done 🙂

  5. moonskittles says:

    I can feel the stars multiply with each goosebumps and more wishes hurled toward the cold sky.
    love it!

  6. Love it! The ending got me… ❤

  7. Souldiergirl says:

    Chills- I wish I could hug you so tight. This is fluid beauty. Love you dh ❤️

  8. Ms. Vee says:

    Lovely my friend. You can make the words sing and sting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

