Upon Love’s Gain….

Masterfully crafted
The calligraphy on this
invitation
Written across the backdrop
of the universe
Fluid script
Fate’s penmanship
All are Welcome
But not with the same
Pomp and Circumstance
The doorman will announce
your arrival
Swirling Dance floors
Music playing above idle Conversation
We clasp hands
Smile our greetings
It’s been too long
We’ll be thankful for the
odd, well placed potted plant
Shielding us from encounters
we’ll regret
Those
uncomfortable and less desirable
We’ll occasionally catch the glimpse
Of a cherished Friend
leaving as The Chimes strike Midnight
When the main course is served
I’ll pass my plate on to those who need it more
I’m not that hungry
Further still I know the torture
of a stomach
soured on ambition and the ashes of dreams
And yet will still find it impossible
To not reach for the Sugared Fruit
To feel the saccharine touch of Desire
on my tongue
To know the warmth of Passion’s flame
and to feel My Heart satiated
upon Love’s gain

Audio Recording

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Upon Love’s Gain….

  1. Rita says:

    ‘A stomach soured on ambition’ has to be my favorite line. I’ve seen it too many times in my life.

    Eric, this is simply outstanding

  2. sirenlost says:

    This … this is what I strive to achieve with my words. A world of intense imagination that touches upon all our senses and still delivers an impactful message. One of my favorites from you. Oh — I loved the audio, too. Especially since it led me to more of your treasures!!

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Siren. I’m drawn in by your words too! You do a wonderful job of painting a picture.
      There are a lot of Audio links there, Yes. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy them too. Thank you for being here. ❀

  3. Souldiergirl says:

    Yesss!! Oh I’ve so missed this. I love your poetry. So beautiful Eric and your incredible voice too- what a gift for this girl. πŸ’™πŸ²

  4. Ms. Vee says:

    Wonderful writing, and voice!

  5. Geetha B says:

    This is really beautiful Eric. I love how you wander with the images and take us with you on the journey of looking back on a life that could be anyone’s and then that looking forward with hope to something that perhaps might come. Beautiful write!

  6. This poem feels like what would happen if Fitzgerald and Hemingway had a child. I absolutely love it. Especially enjoyed the reading, and a stomach soured on ambition and unfulfilled dreams line

  7. Sky D Sky says:

    I especially like beginning. Thanks for the reading, it’s much easier for me to listen and read at a same time. It makes it as one whole. I like it very much. πŸ™‚

  8. moonskittles says:

    Aww, what a treat!! I loved hearing your voice read this beautiful piece. It is excellent in wit and rich in imagery! πŸ™‚

    • Eric says:

      My voice still sounds so weird to me. I don’t hate it…but I don’t love it either….but i’m the one who has to hear it all the time
      πŸ˜‰ ❀ thank you, Ma’am!

Leave a Reply

