Gelida Terram…

zumwalt-prairie-preserveWasn’t but seven
months ago
She stood in this waving
Golden inland sea
The wildflower and the scrub bush
Carried the train
Of Her
Dusky pale blue
Dress
While she caressed her
Care-worn fingers
Through the bushy crowns
Of the wheat
Her dark locks
Peeked at me
From under her white
Bonnet
But Her eyes were always
Stormclouds on the Horizon

And now…

Winter’s Chill
Sweeps in from the
Prairie
But it can not freeze
My Heart
For it will not find it
Vulnerable and Weak
Within My Chest
Instead laying already
Frozen
In the bitter frost-hardened
Ground
Next to the
Pinewood Chariot
That has already carried
Her
To the Stars

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Gelida Terram…

  1. Rita says:

    Oh dear God – give me half of what he’s filled with! You just keep producing this amazing material, my brother.

  2. Geetha B says:

    Beautiful poem Eric though very sad as well. May your heart always be filled with Love and warmth my friend 🙂

    • Eric says:

      Thank you so much, Geetha! You know? 99% of my poetry comes from my own experiences or centers around something I long to feel. This poem was actually inspired by a post Rita made with a link to this song:

      once I listened to it, I told her thank you for posting that because I know there is a story in that song somewhere.

      This is where it eventually took me.

  3. Oh be still my beating heart! ☺️❤️ Just simply beautiful Eric. I truly love this piece.

  4. Oh. Ouch. Lovely, though. ❤

  5. moonskittles says:

    So much longing that makes the reader gasp for air.. wow Eric, this is both beautiful and sad.
    “But Her eyes were always
    Stormclouds on the Horizon” – my favorite verses!!
    hugs to you!

  6. Lisa T says:

    Love this and you are a beautiful man❤️ WOW! I want more of this👌🏼

  7. Pingback: Gelida Terram: Stormclouds | My Sword and Shield….

  8. Finally got here for this one — incredible and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

