An Ember of Her Beauty….

How long since
I have lost the War Queen’s Favor?
Since I have painted My eyes
with the Black of The Morrigan?
Sung the keening notes of
My WarSong
to the Stars?
I danced amid the Shadows of
the Great Host of Her Army
Around the Roaring Flames
Of The Oathfire
Slickened My Knees
In the raw earth
as I drank from Her
Chalice of Fealty
From Whence does My Deliverance
Come?
Ere I suffered Her judgment,
Did I not romance Her warrior Heart
Within the very Shadow of Her own Fortress?
Then placed Her hand o’er My Heart
and left Her sigil emblazoned within
The sepulcher of My Chest
That I might carry Her Standard into
The Maelstrom of Battle
Yet my strong arms be not hampered
by a Guidon
When My blade Bit My Foe’s Neck
cracked o’er my Battle-Cry
Splinter-sharded and sundered
leaving not His flesh in Ruin
Leaving My weapon Arm toothless
and Throwing down My Shield upon the
Broken Ground
As late
of the endless wanderings in the Night
I have searched within this Forest
My bare feet crack and break
upon Thorn and Holly leaf
I must remember
My name
It is penned within the Bole of a Tree
Translated into the Language of My People
It is a bright talisman that will
call the very stars from the Heavens
Until I have gathered it into My hands
When Her voice calls out from the Horizon
I oft have run to the embrace of
The Ancient Oak
and under His Elder Beard
Among the deep roots of His feet
I have piled the wet leaves about Me
and pulled to Me an
Ember of Her Beauty
Though it scars and burns
I cup my hands about It
and speak to it with My Heart
Sacrificing My Words
Though Precious to Me
and gifted by the Gods
I will watch them burn
For in passing Breath to Her
I pass life-giving Warmth
back to Me
And in doing So
Un-ice My Frozen Heart

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to An Ember of Her Beauty….

  1. Hi Eric, it’s always a pleasure to read your wonderful work, and this time is no exception:)

  2. Souldiergirl says:

    Wow-an ember of her beauty. Incredibly beautiful warrior. I love getting wrapped up in your words and power. xoxo

  3. So filled with emotion and beauty. 🍃🌺

  4. Rita says:

    Such a powerful write. I love, love, love to get lost in your words, my brother.

  5. moonskittles says:

    Aww.. made my heart beat fast! What a wonderful write this was. The title is captivating as is her beauty! 🙂

  6. Geetha B says:

    Your storytelling capacities are incomparable my friend and I love the title. It reminds me of Max Richter’s song Embers which I used once for a post on my blog. I love reading what you write, it’s like being projected to fairyland

  7. Mr Modigliani says:

    I always can envision your scene and feel transported into the story. Great work

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, MM. I appreciate that. I read the first two installments of your story about Dracula’s Daughter. It’s been much of the same for me. Anxious to see the concluding parts!

      Thank you for being here, Sir.

  8. Wow! Eric, you’re amazing! I was lost in this beautiful read. Love you strong warrior. Arghh love your work! ❤️❤️❤️❤️

  9. This is absolutely exquisite I am at quite a loss for words other than I enjoyed the journey as well 🙂

  10. You always burn with love ❤️ Though it scars and burns you still cup your hands. That’s love ❤️😉

  11. Ms. Vee says:

    Absolutely beautiful writing as always Eric. I had to make it a point to take the time to read your posts. Peace❤

Leave a Reply

