Legacy….

Used with Permission, Courtesy of www.justingedak.com

Artist: Justin Gedak Used with Permission, Courtesy of http://www.justingedak.com

Ermine and Crown
She makes Her way Down
To the bowels of the Castle
Deep

An oath left to swear
Heavy Burden She bears
Where the ghost of Her Yesterday
Sleeps

She is style and grace
Her footsteps fill the space
Her Blue eyes show no one Her
Tears

Though each step is hard
Her hip still holds its Sword
But this battle’s been raging for
Years

By the edge of Her blade
She’s stopped many a knave
Countless daemons She’s put to their
Rest

But despite all Her claims
of Martial Fortune and Fame
There’s one that still lives in Her
Chest

And She’d cut it free
With the blade beside Her knee
If she could live without this little
Part

But in all Her domain
Through persuasion or Pain
None can give Her a different
Heart

Audio recording

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Legacy….

  1. Geetha B says:

    Stunningly beautiful and haunting like a heartache. Lovely penning Eric πŸ™‚

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Geetha!! It’s got a little heartache in it. Thank you for being here, always a joy to hear from you. All my best, Poetess.

      • Geetha B says:

        Welcome and I hope you are well. If I had not been married once ai would have wondered how one could feel heartache while in a couple but I am wiser for that fact. be well Eric πŸ™‚

  2. countingsheepstudio says:

    Incredibly beautiful, so many of us can relate to this…ah, it’s too early for all these feels!

  3. This really is beautiful and haunting. I love this, Eric.

  4. Great stuff — love the way you structured it, too. πŸ™‚

    • Eric says:

      Thanks, Brother. I really set myself up for a challenge with the rhyme scheme on this one. Glad you approve! Thank you for being here, Sir.

  5. rachel says:

    i’ve got this on repeat. so beautiful…moved me to tears.

  6. sirenlost says:

    A different heart … a daunting quest that some foolishly believe they achieve. πŸ˜‰ At least she is wise enough to keep the blade sheathed. Beautiful write, Poet.

  7. Aw, this is so bittersweet and made me want to hug your beautiful heroine. πŸ’• truly lovely, my friend πŸƒπŸŒΊ

  8. Amazing. Really love this one. Haunting and heart-aching.

  9. Beautiful as always. Very relatable.

  10. Rita says:

    I love this woman! I’ve known her for a long time. This is so very beautiful, my brother. I just adore it.

  11. Justin says:

    Sounds really awesome, Eric. Love it!

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Justin! Your artwork is amazing. When I saw the emotion in her eyes in the expression on her face I knew she had to represent the woman in this poem. Thank you so much for letting that happen.

  12. Okay, this is totally AMAZING! You blow me away! πŸ’•

  13. moonskittles says:

    This poem can move stones in their ancient beds. Amazing!

  14. You’ve got something a bit different going on here. (If I’m mistaken, please point the way to similar pieces.) Because I absolutely love this one. ❀️ (She reminds me of a warrior who has been after me for years to write her story.)

Leave a Reply

