Mach 1…

 

anchor

“Please…”

6 letters
3 Consonants
3 Vowels
1 syllable

And She knows it’s
a 50 ton Ship anchor on my Heart

She picks the opportune time
to speak it

Waits…

Until I am at the aphelion
of My orbit

When Her beauty is a distant
pin point of light….

….Among Billions of others….

When I could get lost in the Entire
milky way….

…Could fall in love with the
Frosty Silence

….of deep space…

…Could deny my Heroic impulses
….Could refuse the images flooding behind My eyes
..Could cheerfully watch My heart beat its last…
……when I’ve forgotten the sound of Her voice and how it seeps into the cracks of My Broken Parts

When we met, we were both traveling at Light Speed.
Our impact shattered My Soul…

In each lifetime, I find a few pieces
My fingers are raw and bloody from their razor-sharp edges

Yet I clutch them against my Chest
Knowing that I must help them find a way back inside

I push them back through my flesh
Apologizing to each piece in kind
Through clenched teeth, pain and humiliation….
“I’m sorry…. I’m sorry, I lost you….. Please forgive Me”

The saddest part of My life…
is when I discovered My escape velocity
From Her gravity

And it’s true
I don’t feel Her like I used to

But I still feel the impression of
Her black lipstick kiss
On My Cheek…

Out here in the wilds of the Void
it’s so hard to hear…

“Please, don’t leave…”

Sound doesn’t travel in space
unless it’s conducted along a surface
Something solid
Strong
Like the links in a Chain
Connected to An Anchor

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Mach 1…

  1. Nostalgia gets me every time. Beautiful. Poignant. Sad. Full of yearning but also acceptance of the way things are.

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow. Damn, I’m glad I followed you.

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    Brilliant work of art Eric! Absolutely beautiful. I felt the agony. Love it!

  4. sirenlost says:

    Little unknown fact about me … the anchor is deeply symbolic to me. I am currently contemplating an anchor tattoo. But your words seem even more fitting. Beautiful write, Poet. It amazes me how everything you pen touches so many, so deeply.

    • Eric says:

      I love knowing new things about people. Thanks for letting me know that about you! 🙂 and I am so glad you love this one..you’re an amazing woman. I appreciate your support and kind words, Siren.

  5. countingsheepstudio says:

    The voice, seductive, enchanting, brings us back to reality. Not *always* what is desired when one is in orbit. Enjoyed this journey.

  6. Wow, this was a brilliant journey you took us on, Eric! Always love your words ❤

  7. Rita says:

    So poignantly beautiful . . . .

  8. Wow! This is so amazingly beautiful. I adore this. Fantastic piece!

  9. moonskittles says:

    Ohhh Eric, this is so beautiful. The images tuck at my heart and I find myself full of longing.
    Loved it!

  10. I read a lot and am woefully neglect in commenting. But Eric, this is phenomenal. It pulled me in and kept me there until the end. Had to read it again.

  11. I had to read this again! Captivating for sure! but paired with the song that’s now going onto my favorite steamy playlist – enrapturing 🙂

    • Eric says:

      Thank you so much, again, L! I’m glad it reaches you so!
      That song is amazing. I had it on playback for a while over the last few days. I usually drown myself in new music all the time. But it’s like I can’t get enough of that one.
      Have a good evening and thank you for being here!

  12. Geetha B says:

    Perhaps it is a necessity to be torn apart in order to be a poet, picking shards of ourselves from one lifetime to another, apologising for the hurt, for not knowing better, for the lost moments. You capture that inescapable ache so brilliantly and beautifully. Well done my friend!

  13. Gosh… this piece paired with the song is so heartbreaking!
    Jackie69

Leave a Reply

