To My Son…

Nicholas

Nicholas

Young Heart…
Hold on to these Days
Of Fair winds and following Seas
Of these times
When Fairies exist
and monsters Hide in closets
to escape the light of Day
Do not yearn for the whitecaps
Beyond the reef
Stay in the tidal pools
Reciting silly themes
and remembering the names
of Dragons
Believe that Mermaids
leave Seashells for you
to Hear the ocean
When wooden sticks
were Named
“Excalibur”
Arthur will never
be Your favorite
You are the heart of Galahad…
Believe in Heroes
Of Kryptonian Might
Of Herculean feats
find Elysium in the Shade
of a tree
Put down your trowel and your square
let the mortar set in its bucket
These walls can wait
Come down from the scaffold
and watch the sunset behind
the hackberry and the pin oak
You’ll see enough of them
from the ramparts of this ruined fortress
in your older years
Enjoy their colors with the strength
of your younger eyes
with a heart less tainted
I pray you stave off the building
for another day
For as the walls rise
and grow
with the ivy of the passing years
So will your grip loosen
To find that one day
Your memory of a life less encumbered
is so much sand
around your feet

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to To My Son…

  1. This kills me, Hearthbrother. As a father to sons and as a once-upon-a-boy who often carried a sticksword into battle in the woods and hills beyond my backyard. And, of course, as someone who misses those days with all my heart.

    Beautifully expressed.

  2. Heartafire says:

    It’s so cliche to say, but this is breathtaking Eric. Of course I thought of my own son, a red and blue towelled held around his neck secured by a safety pin, oh, he was a super hero! Your gift for expression is beyond any words that I have.

  3. Beautiful tribute to your son. It made me think of my daughters . Brought a tear to my eye . You know you and I were thinking along the same lines. I wrote a poem last week about childhood. I haven’t posted it yet. But I digress, I hope your son hold tightly to these precious memories. This poem will always serve as a reminder.

  4. rachel says:

    precious.

  5. Geetha B says:

    So much love emanates from the words. This is truly a beautiful series of heart-felt advice to a son and stands as a tribute too made to early childhood and its carefree possibilities. Kudos to you Eric for such a beautiful write!

  6. Ms. Vee says:

    Lovely tribute to your handsome son Eric! I was recently thinking how fast my son became a man. Blessings and peace.πŸ˜„πŸ’—

  7. VictoryInTrouble *~Vic~* says:

    What a cutie!
    This is such a beautiful, heartfelt poem to your little boy. So fitting for me as I celebrate my boy’s birthday this weekend. They grow so fast but I still see the joy and silliness in him that I will always love.

  8. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    This has all the wonder and feelings that a young boy should hold onto. Well done Dad. ❀

  9. Rita says:

    First, I knew it was RenFaire cuz we’re that way. Second, this is so very poignant and wise. Enjoy they days, sweet son. Swiftly they go by.

  10. This is so inspiring, even for me. Your son is a lucky boy:) Again, a beautiful piece of writing

  11. This brought tears to my eyes my friend. There is nothing like the love a parent has for their child and this was absolutely breathtaking. Beautiful words of wisdom. I think we always want them to retain that childhood innocence, that belief in everything magical, wanting them to always find joy in each day. I’m sure, with you as his father, he is fated to always find that magic. Bravo poet.

  12. Larysia says:

    I don’t have children and may never, but this was still a beautiful read for me. It in general reminds me of growing up, of losing imagination and magic with age. Thankfully, that isn’t the case for all of us. May Nicholas hold onto that imagination and magic!

  13. Oh, seriously? You are breaking my heart. So bittersweet. These times, years that will end… Galahad indeed. ❀️

  14. moonskittles says:

    There is no stronger bond than the one of blood we say in Albanian. Beautiful and handsome son you have and what a treasure you have written for him to read and cherish!

    – Dajena πŸ™‚

  15. Jackiedm69 says:

    So precious Eric…it makes me want to hug my three little boys!
    Children should enjoy these years of playfulness instead …they only wanna grow up.
    Jackie69

  16. jennyhayut says:

    The hopes and dreams we have for our children, how it owns us. Beautifully written Eric. I think perhaps my favorite thus far of yours that I’ve read. As a Mom that reminisces and dreams big for my own son and daughter, your words ring true.

    • Eric says:

      Hey!!!! Jenny! Thank you! I meant to send you a message this morning saying I was glad to find your blog!!! I’ll be reading through it tomorrow moring. πŸ™‚

      • jennyhayut says:

        Thank you so much! Very kind of you to follow and very much appreciated! I never catch your work on the blue bird site so it’s nice to be able to see it easily! I’ve just started my blog as I just recently closed my other site down so….not much there as of yet ☺

        • Eric says:

          Then I’ll make sure I keep an eye out for new posts. Thank you for being here!

          • jennyhayut says:

            Thank you for reading Eric. 😚 Now that I’ve discovered you are just as much an animal and nature geek as me I will undoubtedly look forward to reading all your words regularly now! It’s funny how I can watch a human be chopped to pieces in a horror flick but I’ve never been able to watch any movie or show where an animal of any sort is harmed or killed. Old Yeller was a nightmare for me as a kid!

Leave a Reply

