Acolyte of Helios…

image

Warm Aegean
Winds
Carry my ship
Skipping across
These plains
Of liquid turquoise

Sea foam
Clings to the bowspirt
Incandescent in the
Mediterranean Light
We sail from
Victory

Having Shattered
The Angry Might
Of Atlantian Fury
Fair Athens stands
Even as Oceanus
Holds our Foes
Beneath his Powerful
Hands

The nation beyond
The Pillars of Hercules
Is no more

Hubristic pride
Drags all Tyrants
From their warm bed
In the small hours
Of the night
A crown is of little weight
Against the disfavor
Of Olympus

I journey back
Home
To the safe
Harbor of Rhodes

I will follow
By day
the Smoke plume
And by night
The flaming Beacon
Of the Colossus

And when our mast
Is eclipsed
By its shadow
I will find Her there
Astride the breakwater
Beneath the Mighty Titan’s feet

And the radiance of Her
Beauty
As I see it
With Salt stung eyes
Will have My heart
Leap to the ground
To catch Her in
My arms

And feeling the press
Of her lips
On mine
Should I then bask
In the warmth
of Her illumination

And name Her an
Acolyte of Helios

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Acolyte of Helios…

  1. Rita says:

    Astonishing! Makes my heart happy. I love this, Bro

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ah, this makes me happy. I’m glad he got back to her. So beautiful.

  3. Victory and love! Excellence again, Brother.

  4. Such wonderful images…this reminds me of Ulisse returning home to his Penelope despite all the obstacles.
    Jackie69

  5. Geetha B says:

    How lovely. I just wrote something about a beacon too 🙂

  6. Yes! Absolutely love this one. ❤️
    #mast

Leave a Reply

