Lycanthrope…

woodsatnight
I can feel
The Eyes
of the forest Upon me

The Dryads
whisper My name
between the
branches of The Oaks

Singing their
swaying, groaning songs
From limb to Ancient Limb
I pay no heed
to their taunts
to draw Me away
from this place

My Spirit
belongs here
It knows these root tangles and brush piles

it knows the
stump where I sit
Where I carved
“INVICTUS”

I deconstruct
Myself
atom by atom, examine and reassemble

Can I find
the right sequence?
The right Order to
Restore My factory settings

My mind used to know
this litterfall
These Bramble-Thorn trails

I used to Hear
Her voice
speaking to Me
in the sun-dappled places

I could find her smile
in the fingered Rays of sunlight
cast upon the ground by the long-leaf pines

I could feel
The rise and fall
of Her breathing
as I lay slumbering against the ground

Smell Her perfume
as it haunts the air around
The sacred Hollow where Blue Jays argue over berries

I sit at the edge
of the underbrush
watching the moon
listening to Arboreal Night

Its arpeggios
crescendos
and diminuendo

and then
I heard a sound
Something I’d not heard
in all my years…

it was feral
Lupine
and full of anguished torture and bitter sorrow

and when I opened my eyes
I watched My voice
Floating away from Me in billowing steam
Rising to the Stars

and I understood
The sound was made
By My own Heart

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Lycanthrope…

  1. Heartafire says:

    Blown away…you’re good!

  2. Rita says:

    Oh, Eric!! I’m with Holly. Takes my breath away. I want these in a book I can pick up and cherish ❤️

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Sigh… This made me cry. Goodness, I don’t know how you always evoke such emotions in me. Well, you’re good, that’s how. But I was surprised to find tears streaming down my cheeks. Perhaps I should examine that! 🙂

  4. They’re right, your poetry always evokes such strong emotions. It’s always has slightly whimsical elements tempered by depth and poignancy.

  5. Damn, this is good. You bring together the power of wildness and suffering from loss. Fantastically written, Eric.

  6. Lisa T says:

    WOW! I need to catch my breath!! WOW!

  7. Fantastic, as always, Eric! ♥ So moving….

  8. Purpleanais says:

    Gorgeous! And that ending…<3

  9. Damn! Amazing! So many great images/lines to love but this one made me forget the ones before it 🙂

    I watched My voice
    Floating away from Me in billowing steam
    Rising to the Stars

    • Eric says:

      Thanks, Kevin. Even as an adult I can still appreciate the fascination of blowing huge clouds of steam with your breath on a cold night.

      Thanks for being here!

  10. Read this one twice. Love it. Such beautiful images (and points for Dryads). 💗

  11. moonskittles says:

    It pricks my heart and makes me relieve that anguished voice departure.. so powerful!
    Hope you are well dear friend!

Leave a Reply

