Battle Prayer…

loneknight
Hear Me now
oh ye angels of War
bend down from
The high places
of the world and
lay thine lips upon
my blade
Bury my anger
and my rage
and So
blind My senses
that I may strike true
without Judgment or Mercy
For I seek not to maim or wound
Nor do I wish to be cruel
Grant me the fortitude
to pursue My torments
and vanquish that which
wishes me ill
Be thou my Remembrancer
When the battle rages
whisper unto My exhausted ears
The names of those
for whom
I have taken up my sword
Let me not forget their sanguine dreams
Nor tarry in the mire of the swamps of doubt
let indecision be driven from My heart
and place within my tattered Soul
A spark of your gentle Mercy
That I might find Honor in Victory or Grace in Defeat
and Hold mine enemies when this task is done

Enemies, no longer

Id ex totis praecordiis meis
(I ask this with all my heart)

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Battle Prayer…

  1. Nice battle hymn! I’m ready to take up the sword against your enemies. πŸ™‚

  2. Rita says:

    Yes! Yes! Yes! Would you think less to know that echoes the sentiments of my prayers for many a year. I wished to remains fearless and to destroy that which sought to destroy me.

    This is fabulous.

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    I love this notion of doing battle but with no cruelty. What a tough thing to do. This is beautiful, Eric.

  4. Heartafire says:

    Outstanding! I would like to share this on House, let me know. πŸ™‚

  5. Heartafire says:

    Reblogged this on House of Heart and commented:
    stunning! comments closed here, please see the original.

  6. Heartafire says:

    My pleasure…thank you!

  7. sirenlost says:

    I am so honored to call you “friend”, Poet — not only because of your writing talents, but most importantly because of your heart and soul!!

  8. A true Warrior of Light.. Thank you Eric..
    Wonderful poetry.. I came via Holly’s ( Hearts of fire) reblog
    Many thanks
    Sue

  9. Ms. Vee says:

    Remarkable job Eric!

  10. Love your Warrior Soul! β™₯

  11. Wowing readers every single time.

  12. Courage and valor are always in fashion.

  13. Poetry of a hard warrrior!
    In friendship
    Michekl ( Heartafire’sz reader )

  14. Geetha B says:

    Prayed like a true knight of honour and valour Eric, like repeating parts of the old code πŸ™‚

  15. Awesome. βš”πŸ›‘ Love from the Warrior Queen

  16. moonskittles says:

    What a knight! One who knows the right allegiance before a stormy fight. One who is never afraid to battle because protecting the ones he loves is his paramour!

Leave a Reply

