Semantics…

000001

She had a hard life and He admired her tenacity and spirit:
A roiling tempest
Behind her eyes
it bestowed upon Her
A pale shadow of a fallen angel
A sorrowful beauty
My heart could not unsee

He was so in love with Her:
Days sitting
In the sun
And her hair
Was brushed gold
Upon my Shoulder
And the universe hushed
When her fingers
Laced in mine

She had a calming effect on him:
Her voice rose
Above My panicked Heartbeat
Like the song of a skylark
Lifted above a field of battle
Like balm
On an open wound

He would do just about anything for Her:
So direct Me
You earthbound Angel
If you wish
To see the universe
I will summon down
The very stars from Heaven
to dance and play upon the water

I mean anything:
I will brave the razor edge
of passion’s knife
and if it would
bring but a small tug
at the corner of Her smile
and stoke the light
within Her eyes
I will cleave My heart
from My Chest
and serve it to Her upon
bended Knee

Because She was just that special:
I have
Searched the halls
of the Great Library
Mountain upon mountain
of scrolls have passed
before my weary eyes
By sunlight and candles flicker
N’er have I referenced
in all of mankind’s
mad scribblings of self-importance
a single record
of such a wondrous creature
as She

And He made it his mission to make sure She knew it, everyday:
I was born
So many eons ago
within the very heart
of a Star
The collection of elements
That I represent
assemble and compose
age after age
a new construct
of raw materials that
translates to the culmination
you see before you today
I have lived an ageless life
in increments of mortal lifetimes
The entire lexicon of human speech
from the beginnings of the earliest days
when we traced our hands upon
The stone innards of the mountains
is open to the whim of the cells of My body
that form my mind to compile it
and my tongue to loose it from my mouth
…in all the languages of man….in all of our collected history….in all of the wonders created with human blood and sweat….there remains only a small grouping of words that embodies everything I want you to understand about my life as it relates to yours:

I love you.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Semantics…

  1. sirenlost says:

    Absolutely stunning, Poet.

  2. Gorgeous…the kind of love known only to poets and true romantics

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Truly, truly beautiful. Amazing, really. Goodness, just when I think I know how good it can get, you create another masterpiece and I am blown away.

  4. rachel says:

    sigh.

  5. This is stunningly beautiful, Eric β™₯

  6. Lisa T says:

    You are a true ROMANTIC my friend. I cannot get enough of thisπŸ’‹

  7. Purpleanais says:

    Oh wow. Just…wow ❀

  8. Geetha B says:

    So beautiful Eric xoxo!

  9. aishwarya148 says:

    It’s brilliant Eric! The woman for whom this has been written must be flattered beyond bounds! Who’s your inspiration? πŸ™‚

  10. Ms. Vee says:

    I am in awe of your loving talent!

  11. A Masterpiece…I’m in awe !
    Jackie69

  12. mandibelle16 says:

    Amazing and beautiful. She means so much to him but his last three words are most powerful! And that is saying something because the whole poem is very powerful and convincing.

  13. Rita says:

    No words ❀️

  14. Mr Modigliani says:

    When you get this praise from sirenlost (Dana), you know that you truly are a skilled poet (and i agree). I am curious where your inspiration came from, given that much of the setting feels like feudal Europe in the Middle Ages. Did you read much in this area when you were younger?

    • Eric says:

      thanks, MM.

      I have always been intrigued with the flowery language of the Elizabethan era. Shakespeare, Middleton, Donne…I love the arsenal of words they used..and the methods they used to employ them.

      When i want to express a deep romantic tone, I find that my mind references those particular writers. The first shakespearean literature I was exposed to was, Romeo and Juliet. When I think about a man’s sincere, out-of-control love for a woman, I think of that.

      Every one of Romeo’s heavily weighted expressions of what he is feeling, has been the basis for what I define as Romantic love.

      There are many types of love, of course, as anyone who reads here knows. And not all of them are suitable for The Bard’s tone.
      But when I want to make an impact and I want someone, especially a woman, to be speechless about what they are feeling…I turn to this form of language. In my opinion, it makes the strongest, most deeply felt impact, of anything else I can get to come out of my pen.

      It’s something that I feel I can do well. And I have an inexplicable feeling of natural ability when it comes to this style of writing.

      But, also, as I make a point at the end to reveal…there has still never been any phrase in the human lexicon that covers a depth of emotion more than, “I love you”

      In the end, it is the most powerful phrase anyone can speak. and it’s the one everyone on the planet wants to hear.

      πŸ™‚

      • Mr Modigliani says:

        Eric, I have found the phrase “you are mine” to be ever so powerful, perhaps even more so to women. Thank you for this explanation. I must admit that my engineering and business degrees did not steep me well in such classic literature. I have had to work hard on my own time to immerse myself in the great classics

  15. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Ok. I am convinced now that you are a reincarnated Knight. Thank-you for explaining your thought process on the romanticism in your poetry. Yes, I can see how this flowery language makes a heart sing. Not to discount these sonnets of the past – glad I can enjoy your modern, more accessible version.

  16. moonskittles says:

    Sigh… my heart always skips a beat when it comes to your pages. I get lost within the beauty of the soul, the enchantment of the images and your love you pour out within each line.
    Adorable!

  17. Oh my, oh my, you Eric are an extraordinarily talented poet! ❀️

Leave a Reply

