Once upon a Time…

myart
Once upon a time I was an artist.  Yes, I’m aware that writing is a form of art and in that aspect, I still am.
But there was a time when I drew with my hands and my eyes, instead of with my heart and my mind.
This picture, above, is something that used to hang in my house.

It was a project from my college days.

I loved going to art classes in college. The community felt a lot like it does here. It was warm and accepting. and with my mind as tangled up as it was in fairy tales and myths…I never found anyone who thought what I had done was subpar because it was based in fantasy or science fiction. They understood that I could be just as “profound” and “ground-breaking” as they were with my dragons and fairies and women wearing way-too-little armor. (I was barely 20…what did I know back then? except that I had hormones.lol!)

All and all I enjoyed it.

Katrina destroyed my entire art collection. (I promise this is not a “poor me” post about my Katrina-related hardships, just feel the need to explain) I had stored every shred of artwork I have ever done since I had been old enough and thoughtful enough to start saving my work…in a large portfolio case. It was under our bed along with my wife’s wedding dress. When we left for evacuation. I had the presence of mind to remember to put the dress and the portfolio on top of the bed. and it was a good thing because we had 6 inches of water in my house. Not nearly the damage that the 9 to 10 feet of water did to the rest of my family..but it was enough to say that everything that was sitting on the floor was destroyed.

as we emptied the house for rebuilding, I borrowed a “box truck” from work and placed it in my driveway. basically using it as a portable storage facility while I worked on the inside of the house.

When I completed renovations, I unloaded the truck little by little. Everything in the truck had been in there for about 8 months. In that time it had rained on and off.

When I carried my portfolio into the house and headed for the bedroom to place it in the closet, i was met by a tearing sound and when I looked down, all the papers and pads and folders had fallen out onto the floor. and they were black with mold and brown with rot and wet….very very wet. The place where I had stored the portfolio in the truck had a tiny hole in the roof and the portfolio had been sitting in a water puddle, most of the time.

Everything was destroyed. I wasn’t able to save anything. It was paper that had been soaking in water for months.

So I’m proud that this one piece of what I used to do has survived to this day.

As I said it was an art project. We had to take an excerpt from a book that we liked and incorporate it into an image that displayed the text.
These words were from a fantasy novel called, “The Chronicle of the Lance”
It is the words of a Eulogy delivered at a funeral for one of the knights in the book who was killed fighting a dragon. And it was a favorite of mine.

So once upon a time, I made pictures with colored pencils and paper. now I do it with words and imagination. 🙂

Wishing you all my best. ❤

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Once upon a Time…

  1. Karin says:

    It is a lovely piece and I’m glad that it survived for you to share it.

  2. Heartafire says:

    Very lovely artwork, I am glad it was saved. I too paint, nothing professional, I just enjoy it but it is something you have to feel compelled to do and I haven’t felt that in a while. Lovely post Eric.

  3. That’s pretty damned cool, Brother. It’s terrible you lost the rest but that probably makes this one even more special. Thank you for sharing it. 🙂

  4. It’s beautiful. I’m sorry about the rest though. Eric, you’re really talented. You should take up painting again. It would add an extra dimension to your poetry.

  5. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Heartbreaking. I hope some of them live on in your mind. You had very beautiful writing, I hope perhaps you’ll take it up again. You clearly need to add some new Art on your walls! Thank-you for sharing this memory.

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    I love your work! That’s really beautiful. I’m sorry that you lost the rest. I think I’d still be sad. I watercolor paint and draw with pencils but I haven’t painted anything since last Spring. Maybe I need the inspiration of the season. 😛 I hope you start up again. I’d love to see some more of your work.

  7. rachel says:

    this doesn’t surprise me one bit. you are an artist through and through. 😘

  8. Jackiedm69 says:

    Very touching words….
    I wish you will go back to painting again.
    Hugs
    Jackie69

  9. moonskittles says:

    Oh 😦 I can but imagine the sadness.. I completely understand and send you a biiiig hug! I am happy that this piece remained and that once upon a time prince is the king of writing poetry! 🙂

  10. aishwarya148 says:

    How amazing is that!!! I’m glad this piece survived but also sad for all the others that didn’t! 😦

  11. Glad to see this survived. I believe there is a reason for that. That this particular piece made it through. (Also, it’s lovely — I especially like the leaves.) Multi-talented, eh? 😝 Pfft! Stop it!

    #mast ❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

