Still Life…

flavia-2

Chin up
Eyes down and hold it
the light is perfect

Sometimes I wonder
how She can direct Me
so casually

Don’t look at the camera

But I know
her brown eyes
are behind the lens

Watching Me
My every move
waiting for that perfect shot

What am I to her?

A beautiful
sculpture of marble
From days of Roman conquest?

I’m a man
So “handsome”
not beautiful…

Men can’t be beautiful

Nonsense
a ridiculous notion
from a Homophobic youth

As if
affectionate platitudes
could direct my desire to a polar opposite

It is more likely, though, I am a landscape…

The sea
frothy and green-grey
against the black sky after a storm

a piece
of driftwood that gravity and force
decided to lay in the shape ofย  heart on the sand

or maybe I am a still life….

A vase
of crystalline green
tenderly embracing a clutch of roses

An inert
ink pot and quill
resting patiently beside a poet’s empty journal

possibly an architectural wonder?

The old
rusty train bridge
that spans the muddy creek

The crumbling
stones and vine-covered
walls of a long dead temple of ancient times

don’t look at the camera

But I
want Her to see
more than in inverted image on photo paper

More than
Her flash bulbs
and lens covers, backdrops and light-meters

So I pray that Apollo completes his fiery ride quickly…

burning daylight
squandering the scenery
smiling as the shadows grow long and Her smile fades

Welcoming twilight
That it will hide the scars
the rusted ironwork and rotting timber planks

that it will show me as…not this crumbling fortress…

But, to Her eyes, a Gilded palace,

glittering in the Morning Sun

 

 

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Still Life…

  1. I really like what you did with this. I’d say you are a true masterpiece and this poem a work of art. I’ve got to share this with my photographer friend, she will love it.

  2. rachel says:

    men can absolutely be beautiful. and this…this is beautiful too. xo

  3. Lisa T says:

    Eric, you are beautiful to me. I love this one in every wayโค๏ธ

  4. Rita says:

    Wonderful, my brother!

  5. You managed to include many topics in this poem, and I’m impressed how you seamlessly did it. The aging (or broken or both) model, and how he sees himself versus how he hopes the photographer sees him. Very well written poem.

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    I suspect you’re always her gilded palace. This is lovely, Eric.

  7. Mr Modigliani says:

    Eric, of course men can be a woman’s muse. You wrote it beautifully.

  8. Love the flow of this poem, beautiful you! โ™ฅ

  9. Geetha B says:

    Absolutely beautiful on both accounts ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. mandibelle16 says:

    Wonderful descriptions of what your speaker wants his love the photographer to see, which is anything but just his face — something more.

  11. You are Homer — reincarnate! Beautiful and meaningful verse, Brother.

    And this… this is poetry:

    The sea
    frothy and green-grey
    against the black sky after a storm

    • Eric says:

      LOL! My Brother, you are too kind. Though I accept your praise as it is intended and with the smile it places on my face. Thank you.

  12. Purpleanais says:

    Another winner, this is fantastic ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    This concept, the internal dialogue, the way it pulls you along….you make me want to curse out loud. That’s a good thing, I can tell you that. Magical words strung along for us lovers of the pathways of the mind.

  14. moonskittles says:

    Awww.. this absolutely took me by surprise. It is a darling change to see him be the center of attention for once ๐Ÿ™‚
    Gorgeous!

  15. Eric, your writing is beautiful. I’m sitting here reading your work, and it takes me to a magical place, so peaceful, Magic! โค๏ธ

Leave a Reply

