Cerulean….

blue

My eyes are closed
but this does not mean I can’t perceive.

As when my face is upturned to the terran sky
and sunlight is shone upon shuttered lids
it casts a ruddy glow upon the protected lens
and warms me in Sol’s fire

Sol…

A star…

Humanity’s Star…

Until my adult years,
The only Star whose heat I could feel on my face
on the long summer days
and made the humid nights
when my toes tracked through rye grass of the fields
and I chased after fireflies and watched the glittering lights
of the bulk-cargo lifters rising and falling at the distant starport
like pinpoint motes of lighted worker bees taking their
precious honey to the stars

I’ve seen nebulae
twisted smokey things of dream dust
wispy tendrils of green-amber starstuff
parting like seafoam in the wake of our Freightliner
static dancing on the audio nodes
A siren song from the center of creation

I’ve been adrift
in the pitch dark between the stars
heard the atmospheric popping of the Hull
resisting the vacuum of space
seen ice forming on the bulkheads
as we conserve precious energy
watched my breath float away from me
in massive steam-clouds
as I inspect shipping containers
in the cargo bays

Blue, a color…
the massive fusion reactor
at the heart of our ship
it smashes hydrogen atoms together
to form helium
there is a detonation which creates a flash
A miniature sun
a science-engine that gives off heat and energy
panels along its length are tinted blue
and translate those flashes into an azure glow

Blue, a synonym for Her
Not for a condition of Her heart
Not for sadness or melancholic despondency
She is Archanian
A civilization of millions
derived from a human splinter colony
a doomed expedition to Archanis Prime

The atmosphere there is saturated
with mineral compounds
That, once breathed in for several cycles,
begins to concentrate
within the cells of the body
that compose hair, eyelashes, the iris, the lips, fingernails
combined with the unique radioactive properties of the Archanian sun
a phenomenon manifests within those areas

The populous has distinct Cerulean features
The longer you are alive on Archanis Prime
The deeper the color

She is Archanian…

She has lived there her entire life…

…and She is breathtaking

Blue, is a color that swells my heart
like the raging oceans of Earth
Blue, is a color that means the tender
embrace of Her lips against mine and the warmth
of her tongue in my mouth
Blue, is the friction between our skin
as we move against the gentle Archanian gravity
Blue, is the feel of her thighs against mine
Blue, is the sound of her breath in my ear
Blue, is the way She whispers my name in Her thick Accent
Blue, is the expression on her face when She cums
Blue, is the thunder of my pulse as we lay exhausted
Blue, is desire, passion and a super-heated ferocious Love

Blue, is my favorite Color.

Audio recording

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Cerulean….

  1. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Now poet turns Scientist, and Science Fiction enthusiast. This is one space Journey I’d follow anywhere. Excellent recording, nice to hear the sound, and cadence of your voice as your read. Ah…This Ending. ❀

  2. What a wondrous poem..so lyrical and beautiful ..enjoyed the reading of the poem too

  3. Geetha B says:

    Blue is my favourite colour too and my nickname is blue so love this twice. Once for aesthetics and once for the colour πŸ™‚

  4. rachel says:

    “Blue, a synonym for Her” πŸ’™ i think you might have just convinced me to make blue my favorite color too. love love love this. and your voice!!!!!! πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™

  5. Rita says:

    This is wonderful, my Brother. I love when you narrate your work.

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, Eric! Science fiction and poetry are two of my favorite things! I don’t have the talent to write it but almost every book I choose to read is sci-fi. This coming together of two favorites, plus your voice!!??? I could not love you any more. ❀ What a beautiful poem and I love the smoothness of your voice. πŸ™‚

  7. Mr Modigliani says:

    Beyond the subject of your inspiring and provocative poem, I would just mention that cerulean blue really is the most beautiful color on a painter’s palette. I particularly like tubes of it in watercolor paints

  8. DeRicki Johnson says:

    Ah, science fiction waxing poetic. Well done!

  9. Love the mesh of scifi and poetry. Something about scfi actually lends itself quite well to poetry, it turns out. πŸ™‚

  10. Heartafire says:

    just beautiful and amazing writing!

  11. moonskittles says:

    Ahhh, what a ride.. YOur poetry always takes me to cross new borders because your imagery feels close to my blood.
    Loved it!

  12. This is gorgeous. And, also, wicked cool sci-fi. πŸ’™ Cerulean is my absolute favorite hue of blue.

Leave a Reply

