Last Stand…

IMG_20160312_230413
This battle rages
night after day
each time
She has returned
To this place
beneath Japanese Magnolia
and Crepe Myrtle
a place where
a defensive line can be formed
the Engetsu
the Crescent Moon
a place of respite
against his gentle advance
on her territory
against the quiet
questions of the world
to determine a suitable configuration
for their relationship
in the light of day
where memories can be processed
into safe havens
Images of his eyes
The smell of his clothes
The feel of his fingers in her hair
His voice
Each dropped vowel
Each over pronounced consonant
Pieces of him stored away
In dark alcoves
His fingers on a guitar
Caressing the strings of her morality
How long had she held this crossing
Between her heart and his?
How could she tell him she never
Intends to surrender?
She’ll hold to the last
Stand defiant
Jaw set firm
and illuminated
In the glowing embers of this bridge
If necessary

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Last Stand…

  1. .
    You feel the pull and struggle. Beautiful imagery. You set the scene perfectly.

  2. A tension in this poem that brings up the question of why she never intends to surrender, that lets the reader think more deeply about the character. Nice job on developing that depth.

  3. Always such great imagery, Eric. 🙂

    Pieces of him stored away
    In dark alcoves

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    I see a tug of war between morality and emotions, which I think could apply to so many things in our lives. But she stands strong. Lovely, Eric! 🙂

  5. Lisa T says:

    I could literally feel every single tug of war word written. You are truly amazing my friend. I LOVE WHAT YOU DO!!!

  6. moonskittles says:

    I can feel your heart writing this one Eric! It is just gorgeous!
    Have a beautiful week!
    ~ Dajena 🙂

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful poem. She seems to like the attention and they both seem to need each other and to be with one another, but she won’t give in. She won’t let love win. That’s very sad. Well done Eric!

  8. Kate Spyder says:

    Thank you Eric. Not just for the image which I saved to use in my art journal, soon, but for the poetic emotional connection. Can’t tell you how this connected with me on so many levels. ❤

    • Eric says:

      I’m so glad it reached you Kate! I was wondering where this one might have come from. Perhaps I wrote it because you needed it.
      Thank you for being here. ❤

  9. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    What a great picture you found to illustrate this one. A female Samurai? Yes! Please, and thank-you. 🙂 I must be channeling you or something after that piece I wrote yesterday, echoes this slightly. Weapons unfortunately don’t do much to protect those weak little hearts. ❤

    • Eric says:

      thank you, Elizabeth! this whole piece was inspired by that picture. I found it while looking through some images on the internet and decided I had to write this!
      And I loved the piece you did yesterday! Its wonderful to have this community that we do! I read all of the words these brilliant minds dream up and they stoke the fire of my imagination too! We are lucky to have the privilege to inspire one another!
      All my best! ❤

      • Elizabeth Helmich says:

        As you know, pictures inspire me all the time. It is a fun challenge. As we all read one another, I am sure our work is influenced by that which touches us, how could it not be? I am very happy for the sense of actual community this platform provides, it has surprised me immensely.

  10. Eric, I look upto you for how you manage to weave emotions into all your writings. This one is no exception.

Leave a Reply

