Choreography…

cropped-Cropped-TangoDancers-JPEG-Medium-1200pxStarts the same way
I’m at first position
and She is elbow deep
in My chest

Cupping her hands
around my heart
She rubs gently with
her thumbs under the atria

Once the music starts
it’s hard to hold onto
her hands
blood makes them slippery

She watches her feet
while we move
She doesn’t need to
She knows the steps

Oh Dark Angel
if you look at me
with those brown eyes
You’d see what I’d give

I’d give you the world
the sun and the moon
Then run to the edge of the universe
and start collecting stars

But you know that.
It’s the reason
you won’t look at me
you know what you do to me

I never miss a step
but this isn’t my forte
She likes the dance
She’s an expert choreographer

When I spin Her
out to arms length
I’ll look away
Because sometimes she lets go

But when I feel
her spin back along
my tired arms
I’ll smile to myself knowingly

I’ll feel the gorgeous
curve of Her hip
against my pelvis
And the Soft feel of her hair against my neck

I’ll relish my time
here with her
as long as I remain
the item at the top of the menu

to be fair
She’s tried to
tell me
She’s been trying since we started

She wants me
but she wants me to know
that I’m not him
But she wants me to believe I am

and I’d bite
I’d take that line
hook and sinker every time
If it wasn’t for the fact that she kisses me

And every time
it feels like a kiss
goodbye


 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Choreography…

  1. Love the poem and the musical selection. Ms. Dark Angel needs to get her sh”t together though. :). Happy Tuesday. xo

  2. prospermind says:

    Fantastic story telling. Great write!
    Be well. πŸ™‚

  3. Rita says:

    You never fail, bro ❀️ never!

  4. Chrissy says:

    one of your best yet

  5. Lisa T says:

    This is true beauty❀️ You are a true romantic EricπŸ’‹

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow! This is sexy and poignant and beautifully written! The imagery is superb! I almost want to tell him to stop letting her kiss him goodbye. Grab her by the shoulders and kiss her until she forgets that other guy! Sorry, got caught up. πŸ˜› You’re amazing, Eric! ❀

  7. Geetha B says:

    Lovely write Eric with just the right dose of bittersweet. I agree that he should probably plunge headlong and try his luck Enjoy it if it is you πŸ™‚

  8. mandibelle16 says:

    Lovely poem. I think a bit sad, he knows “she would like him to believe, he’s the one,” but he isn’t. But he lets himself get carried away in her anyways, like he’s powerless to stop. In a way I suppose he is…

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Mandi. I guess sometimes being manipulated might be better than facing things alone. I’ve got a feeling he keeps himself from falling too far, knowing she is never going to commit to him fully.

      Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

  9. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    All I can say is I love it. Can’t even get into it. All the feels. Bravo my friend. ❀

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Elizabeth. That is more than enough., always. Have a wonderful day, Poetess! πŸ™‚

      • Elizabeth Helmich says:

        I am always grateful for any response, really & truly, though at times it irks me when I can not express myself because my feelings are caught in my throat. Perhaps you understand…
        Enjoy your day as well, Mr. Eric. πŸ™‚

        • Eric says:

          Honestly, sometimes I don’t know what to say about pieces…and I always hate to leave without saying something too. so I understand exactly what you mean! πŸ™‚

  10. Ms. Vee says:

    Love it!β€πŸ˜ƒ

  11. Purpleanais says:

    So poignant, got a little choked up over here…

  12. moonskittles says:

    Emotional and left me bereft of smiles at the end.. the way your words move me is gorgeous! Love coming back for more on your page!

  13. This is a bit sad, yet still utterly beautiful, Eric. 😊 I wish that someday you find someone that kisses you like the first time every time! ❀️

Leave a Reply

