Thyme, Honey and Clove…

Thyme
Honey and Clove
Ribbons in Her Auburn waves
She wove
A daughter of Sunlight
framed in brown
Would place upon
my head
a Flowered Crown
And kisses upon
my cheeks
So sweet
My pretentious
heart misses
a beat
Her voice
A song of
Springtime Faire
would bend
my knee
an oath to swear
That I’ll forsake
Both Country and Crown
to feel her touch
of Thistle down
Perchance to know
Her secrets
deep
and thereby
pledge Her love
to keep
Inside my Heart
til Death recall
my spirit or hers
beyond that wall
If she should go
before my light
I’ll dream of Her
each following Night
Thyme, Honey and Clove
Ribbons in her Auburn waves
Were wove
Her ghost, I’ll dream
but will never feel
My heart
the morning light
Will steal

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Thyme, Honey and Clove…

  1. Rita says:

    I don’t have adequate words this morning, my Brother to express my appreciation … these will have to do ❤️❤️❤️

  2. The last five lines. Sigh

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful! ❤

  4. Purpleanais says:

    Fantastic, omg I love this, it doesn’t just flow, it flies ❤

  5. mandibelle16 says:

    A wonderful love poem to the speakers sweetheart. A courtly love I think. So sad she dies, makes me think of Wordsworth poem a bit ” A violet by a mossy stone that none but I could see.” Not sure the name of the poem at the moment.

  6. Lisa T says:

    Totally got me smiling! Ever so sweet my Poet King!!

  7. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Now this one is like Sweet Tea, even with the sad ending, it makes me smile. Lovely.

  8. This is awesome — you’ve captured, I think, the way the romantic-era poets wrote. Awesome!

  9. Oh my goodness! This is just stunning and so dreamy! ❤️❤️❤️

  10. Oh, love it! 🌸🌿 Very Midsummer Night’s Dream. Eric the Bard. 💛

  11. Your writing is incredible. In a previous post, you said your humble servant, it’s one of many likeable things about you and your site, humility and honesty, beautiful combination! I love the current story you’ve been telling! Wow!

  12. moonskittles says:

    I feel I can play this on my guitar. Gorgeous!! ❤

Leave a Reply

