Creed…

cogs-machine-6606002
I believe in Good
I believe if Good exists there will be evil
I believe in Light
I believe if Light exists there will be dark
I believe in Second chances
I believe if Second chances exist there will be those who will exploit
I believe in Kindness
I believe if Kindness exists there will be cruelty
I believe in Generosity
I believe if Generosity exists there will be greed
I believe in Love
I believe if Love exists there will be hate
I believe in Hope
I believe if Hope exists there will be Despair
I believe in Mercy
I believe if Mercy exists there will be Malice
I believe in Fate
I believe if Fate exists there must be Luck
I believe in Karma
I believe if Karma exists there must be contrivance
I believe in Courage
I believe if Courage exists there must be fear
I believe in Grace
I believe if Grace exists there must be impudence
I believe in You
I believe if You exist there must be a place where you do not
And I don’t ever want to find that place

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Creed…

  1. Excellent, especially the last line.

  2. rachel says:

    this made me cry. beautiful, eric. x

    • Eric says:

      xx thank you, Rachel. Your tears have always meant a great deal to me. I am always honored when my words move your heart. ❤

  3. Such a paradox and so well executed. Love the way you think and write.

  4. Ms. Vee says:

    So beautiful Eric!❤

  5. Geetha B says:

    Lovely write Eric. I believe in all of that and I believe in all that is in between all of that 😀

  6. mandibelle16 says:

    Awesome poem, this idea of balance in the universe. Or if you have read paradise lost, Milton explains evil as a “twisting of what is good.” So, there could be the idea of twisting generosity for instance and becomes Greed. In the end I feel the speakers fear that their is somewhere his live doesn’t exist. Sad.

  7. Rita says:

    Fabulous, Bro ❤️

  8. sana001 says:

    Lovely..I guess that creates the balance in the universe.. Paradoxical and so true.. Touching one. Specially your last line.. Keep writing.. 🙂

  9. Atomic Words says:

    I wish alot of people would read this in its entirety despite thier beliefs and backgrounds. That they would take a minute to reflect and search themselves and ask soberly what thier lifes creed is. What do they truly believe and is that what they live for?
    Good one Eric.

  10. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Such truth, spoken so beautifully. That last line…warm fuzzies. Yes. ❤

  11. moonskittles says:

    Wonderful statements of belief, of heart and soul! Loved it!

  12. Purpleanais says:

    LOVED this! And the last couple of lines…<3 ❤

  13. Well this certainly hit home. Beautifully done. ❤️

Leave a Reply

