Common Cold creates Poetic Doldrums AND everybody’s got one….

Hey everyone,

Been fighting a very tenacious chest cold over this weekend. I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to comment on my blog and I wanted everyone to know that I’ll get to answering asap!

I know some may say, It’s not necessary….but I always feel if you take the time to stop by here the least I can do is offer you a “thank you” for your time spent. It is important to me for each and every one of you to feel the fact that I value your presence here.

Went to the doctor this morning.
It’s all just a respiratory infection. Got a sack of meds to take now and of course the obligatory, “Drink plenty of water”….and rest….pfft….yeah right….

Unfortunately, when I’m sick, my brain is useless for writing. except for clever anecdotes about my Doctor’s visit:

So the doc tells me, my chest xray looks good…its just a respiratory infection and they are going to give me some meds to take care of it. Before I go they are going to give me a shot of steroids to help out. So just wait in the room and the nurse will be right in to give me the shot and then I can head out.

So I sit and wait for about 5Β  minutes until the nurse comes in.

She’s a young woman and very polite. She’s got the syringe in her hand and she smiles as she comes in.
“Ok, Eric..” She says as she sets down the papers in her other and hand pulls the drawer open to get a alcohol swab packet “..we’ll just get this in you and you can be on your way.”

“No problem,” I say,

“This is going to go in your right buttock.” She’s still turned slightly away from me while opening the alcohol swab packet.

I slid off the table.
Turn my back to her
and pull my jeans down so that the waistband is just below my butt cheeks. I swear the last time I had a shot in my butt I was at least a single digit old.

So as she is turning around, i hear her say this…and you have to read it exactly as it’s written for it to sound as funny as I thought it was..it made me laugh so much it sent me into a coughing fit…

“So if you just lift your shirt tail and loosen your waistband I can ok we are not shy are we?”

(Apparently, I was told LATER TODAY that it’s not necessary for you to pull your pants all the way down bc they inject it right into the top part of your ass cheek.)

Cold bit of alcohol rub… I can still hear a chuckle in her voice, “Ok, try not to tense up.”
Bee sting. It’s over.

Pull the jeans up, tuck the shirt
Turn back around and I smile…”thank you.”
She shakes her head…and yes, she was laughing, “You’re welcome. I hope it helps.”
“Have a good day, Ma’am”
“You too.”

Ah well…no, I’m not shy.
It’s just a butt
Everybody’s got one.

I’ll catch up with you guys, real soon. πŸ˜‰

All my love ❀

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Common Cold creates Poetic Doldrums AND everybody’s got one….

  1. πŸ˜€ That’s a great story. I’ll be chuckling for a while… πŸ™‚

  2. moonskittles says:

    Ahahahaha!! Wish I was a fly on the wall πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ Maybe I know because I used to give shots to myself πŸ˜€ and daddy is a doctor πŸ˜€
    Love to you! Please feel better!!! ❀ ❀

  3. Heartafire says:

    Get well Eric !

  4. Feel better my sweet friend!!! πŸ™‚ ❀

  5. Feel better! Being sick sucks. Shots aren’t cool either. One of my idiot guy friends went to the doctor one time and took off all his clothes. They didn’t give him a hospital gown or anything to cover up with.. Later, he asked if that was normal.

    Ummm ..no..

  6. Hope you feel better soon!

  7. Funny story about the nurse… those nurses must have some great tales to tell about various patients. I hope your infection retreats after that shot and the other meds.

  8. Only had a jab in the butt once and that was for a severe migraine. Cured my sore throat a treat!

  9. CuteFaceAI says:

    You brought a smile to my cheeks lol. Hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  10. Mr Modigliani says:

    This made me laugh. Get better soon

  11. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    That seriously cracked me up! And I shall refrain from slipping in any plumber jokes at ALL (there’s got to be one up there, I haven’t read the other comments). That sounds like the first time I had a full-body massage. Oh, I wasn’t supposed to strip down right now? Oh, you were going to LEAVE first?!? Ok, gotcha. Oops. We all know what’s under the sheet. πŸ˜‰

  12. rachel says:

    feel better my cheeky friend. xx

  13. VictoryInTrouble says:

    First, I hope you feel better soon. I’m sorry you’re sick. πŸ˜•

    But omg that’s a funny story! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚My mom was a nurse. She had some stories. I bet that nice lady had a laugh with the staff after that. You sweet thing. That’s so cute. ❀️

  14. Laughing my ass off! πŸ˜‚ Yes, I did have to go there. Oh, man! That’s awesome. Why are they giving you a shot in your butt anyway? That’s mighty strange. Makes for a grand story though. For her!
    Feel better, my friend. Sending cyber hugs and tea. β˜•οΈ

  15. Feel better soon. πŸ™‚ And funny story. gave my a chuckle.

Leave a Reply

