Evoco ex Verbis…

When words fail
I come down from the mountains
Removed a stone
from this ivy dappled wall
and ground it into powder
with careful steps and trembling hands
sow the dust into the earth
then with the sacred blade
spill crimson memory
from my veins
upon this hallowed ground
then settle paper atop
the poultice
beneath my bare feet
and voraciously
do the parched fibers
quaff the bitter-sweet potion
distilled within and decanted from
the vaults of my heart
and thus engendered upon the page
Love, Tears and More
are to the world
revealed

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Evoco ex Verbis…

  1. You did it again!! Sigh!

  2. Just beautiful, Eric.

  3. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    More words, less bloodshed. I’d gladly carry your stone for a time, if there was a chance to relieve your burdens. ❤

  4. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful way of describing writing your poetry.

  5. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, you lovely poet! This makes me want to hug you fiercely. I love your words.

  6. Rita says:

    Fabulous as usual my brother

  7. You always have such fantastic imagery, Brother!

  8. Emily C says:

    And another! Swoon… So lovely. I’m going to need more… I love your mind. 🙏🏼

  9. Larysia says:

    Absolutely beautiful! So sorrowful and thoughtful. Perfect for when words fail 🙂

  10. Love! ❤️ Gorgeous imagery. And beautiful description of the writing process. (That’s how I read it, anyway.) #mast

  11. Purpleanais says:

    You’ve yet again bared your beautiful soul to the world – so lovely, Eric 💜

Leave a Reply

