Tanned…

bast

“Bast” by Jeanne Fry http://jeannefryart.blogspot.com

She was a fragment of the Sun
and so were his future days conquered
under blue skies and rolling fields of green
he did nothing to shield himself from her brilliance
so in darker days
just as tender flesh exposed to the full radiance
of Terra’s guardian star
he would remember her in the burns and blisters
on his heart
his time with her
would forever leave her mark upon his soul

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Tanned…

  1. Beautiful. I feel the radiance.

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Beautifully written ♡ you know, you are MY shield and my sword my friend

    • Eric says:

      For someone such as I, there can be no greater honor.

      Your posts always spark such great ideas in my head..and confirm that ideals I have believed in for so long are actually true! 🙂

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        You are chivalry incarnate, far more the peaceful warrior than fly agaric Viking, but what people init is how advanced the Viking culture was

        • Eric says:

          they were! very very far advanced in the aspects of medicine and hygene and tools, weaponry and social structure!

        • Eric says:

          I wonder if you’d do me a favor? I wrote something a while back..and as I was completing it, I thought of you..bc I thought you would appreciate the sentiment behind it.
          take a look when you get a moment, Please? I’d love to know your thoughts.

          https://myswordandshield.wordpress.com/2016/04/21/that-time-jodie-stalled-our-dnd-game-from-30-years-in-our-past/

          • thefeatheredsleep says:

            I shall with pleasure ♡

          • thefeatheredsleep says:

            I think this is a separate but linked idea. One of intimacy without verbal or intellectual agreement but nonetheless a bond forged in messages only recognized by the two involved, going far further than usual “rules” of engagement / intimacy, thus freer and more sincere because not beholden to subscribed modes. I’d say a spiritual connection even if sex-attraction is part, because it’s built on perfect understanding which is nearly impossible this ignoring convention or ackwardness, something outside understanding in purely logical terms but felt so intensely it could change the way you respond to everything since. Bottom line, as we talked about, undoing the need for words, descriptions and intellect just pure, undiluted feeling, made special by not being understood or shared.

          • thefeatheredsleep says:

            I hope u got that right. It’s an experience many would long to have but few experience and one that can extinguish loneliness because only there you find someone else inhabiting the part of you that could feel alone.

            • Eric says:

              I did! I understand fully. I thought that you and I would feel the same about this small window into my young life. Thank you for putting it so beautifully. Much love and respect, Candice. ♡ goodnight. #sleepwell #sweetdreams

            • thefeatheredsleep says:

              You did an *awesome* job of depicting the impossible fragility of invisible bonds

            • Eric says:

              Thank you so much, wonderful friend! ❤

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    Very beautiful, as….always Eric!

  4. mandibelle16 says:

    Nice Eric. It sounds like his blisters and burns are something he cherishes.

  5. rachel says:

    ❤️

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ah, yes. This love. It burns hot, scorching, but you do nothing but throw back your head and bask in the glow, however short its life. And you are never the same. Beautiful!

  7. Emily C says:

    As a sun who shines pretty damn bright, I think I ought to offer people sunscreen from time to time. Lest they all run for shade. Sigh… ❤ Beautiful, Eric.

  8. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Burnt up in love, yes…of course we are! Though not always as eloquently as this. Pure loveliness.

  9. moonskittles says:

    Superb imagery!! I love the terracota metaphor so much!

  10. You continue to amaze. You spin threads of words like a spider (sorry for the gross image) creating such intricate webs. This one strikes me because it’s shorter than a lot of your others and shows you can work gorgeous sentiment and imagery into even small pieces. #mast 💛

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Sarah. If that is true, then we possess a similar ability. I have never forgotten the piece you wrote that had the line that struck me so hard…about holding your arms around yourself like putting pressure on a wound…if I remember, that one was short too.

      Thank you, Friend. ❤

Leave a Reply

