Relics of the Heart: 2

So, in the last entry I talked a little about how this book came to me..

Since our last discussion, I have called my friend that asked me to look at the book and explained to him what I thought about it…

He said, if I wanted to, I could keep it.

are you kidding? Of course I do….

Now that I can relax a bit about it leaving me..I can spend more time researching it…

20160505_072649

Here’s the first poem in the book.

Friendship

I think it would make me very proud,
If unto me some great man bowed.
and I might boast it all life through,
If prince or potentate I knew.
But I’ve a few friends true to me,
and so no happier could I be.

I’d like to think that I could share,
The company of a millionaire.
and maybe boast a little bit,
if money had no part in it.
But, friends are friends, through poor or rich,
and no one questions which is which.

In friendship there are no degrees,
the heart is all that friendship sees.
The will to help, the wish to share,
whatever burdens friends must bear.
Are all that matters at the end,
Whoe’er he be, a friend’s a friend!
ALL
(this is curious to me…i think they mean to say, “that’s all.”)

So this one is in a decidedly neutral voice..this could have easily be written by either Morena or Abel.(Just to clarify, I am only trying to understand who actually wrote the poem..whether it actually was Morena or Abel, ultimately makes no difference to me)

But, I think you might agree, that the next one seems to have a more feminine tone:

20160505_072702

A Song of Hope

A song of hope rises from the sea
to drive away my pain.
The waves that bear him away from me
will bring him home again.

Oh, sea that carries the tall gray ships
upon its somber flight,
be calm and smooth so the prow may slip
in safety through the night.

The song of the ocean hauntingly
comes over hill and plain.
The waves that bore him away from me
will bring him home again!

So obviously a lament for a loved one that is being taken away. If I consider the time in which it was written, it would be easy to assume this is in reference to World War II…
Could this one have been written by Morena or Abel? of course!
I am acutely aware that just because the word “him” is used doesn’t mean the speaker can only be female..
Considering the time period, I think the speaker is supposed to be identified as female.
However it could very well be a father talking about a son…or a brother talking about a brother…So no clear answers yet, I guess…

Here are some small ones that appear on the next page:

Friends
Some count worldly wealth in gold;
Some think pride, on fame, depends,
But of all a man can hold
Most enduring are his friends.

Year
In itself a year’s no more
than the time for task and chore,
Faith and beauty, song and wit
and in wisdom gain a bit

Maddening
These try man’s patience: a scolding wife,
a dull, stag-handled, carving knife,
a winter’s morning finding that
a tire upon the car is flat

Unchangeable
I can run out a line that I pen
I can alter it, week after week,
But I’ve learned this time and again;
I can’t change a word that I speak.

I love this last one…Be careful what you say…once it’s said…it’s very hard to take back…and even harder to claim you didn’t mean it.

So going back to our problem of identifying the poet…not really getting a whole lot from these last 3 poems….I guess maybe we might get some more important information from some of the others.

I’ll send them along as soon as I’m able.

Thank you for being here!

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Relics of the Heart: 2

  1. Rita says:

    Oh, Bro these are fabulous. I find myself creating images of the author in my mind as I read. The history of them pulls me in deep. Thanks so much for sharing ❤️

  2. Heartafire says:

    Eric, this is fascinating. You are doing a fabulous job in breaking down these verses and your deep interest in the treasure from the past moves me. To me it seems there is a third party , perhaps a son or daugher, writing the love story of this couple separated by war. It strikes me that way.

  3. Emily C says:

    Absolutely amazing. I am in love with all of this. The poetry…outstanding!! Just, breathtaking. I wonder if there’s a literature historian out their in the interwebs who may be able to help you research and honor this art…

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    These poems are all so beautiful! I agree that it’s difficult to tell whether they were written by a man or woman. But maybe they were written by both and then copied down here? These don’t seem like first drafts. At least, if I were writing in a book, it’d be a mess. 🙂 Thank you for sharing these Eric. I can imagine the writer would be so honored to know you are doing so. ❤

  5. This is so cool! I’m so happy you research at your leisure. And that you are sharing with us. The poems are so poignant. I’m imagining either that wife or the parent sending their loved one away to war. Very emotional!

  6. bino32 says:

    This is totally fascinating! No matter who wrote these poems, they’re great. I hope your research will be successful!

  7. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    These are all such wonderful treasures, such a delicious plot! Good point Vic raises, there are no typos, though I like to imagine back in the day writer’s pondering each word with proper consideration before putting pen to paper. I know the very few I’ve done in my new notebook I loathe having to change.
    I still have the stronger sense that this is Abel, and not solely for the handwriting. It is the way (I’ll assume he) he phrases his sentences. Though I could be entirely wrong!
    Looking forward to the next installment you share with us. Have a wonderful evening Eric. Xo

  8. I love this post and I love the poem Unchangeable too! wow. Quite a lot of wisdom and thoughtfulness in all of the poetry. It could be all written by a woman as a man. Perhaps ready to publish? Thank you for sharing this. 🙂

  9. moonskittles says:

    Definitely a feminine tone, plus “him” in it.. Please keep posting more. What an adventure!! 🙂

  10. Again. What a find. Or, rather, that this treasure found you. I’m loving these and look forward to seeing more. Perhaps you’ll never figure out the mystery of who wrote which one or if it’s the same person but ultimately it probably doesn’t matter. (Although I would be curious if I were you.) 😉

    • Eric says:

      Oh and I am! Extremely curious! We’ll keep exploring through it together and see what we can find. 😉 thank you, Sarah! ❤

Leave a Reply

