Lady Fear…

mathematics_chalkboards_equation_1920x1080_hd-wallpaper-712714

This place of shadow
this midnight realm
where I crouch
near the stone slate
splinter of chalk in
bloodstained fingers
I work on this equation
I sort the variables
I do not understand the cypher
there are only a
few of the sigils that have
meaning to my eyes
mistakes are made
I blot away the writing
With tears of frustration
and begin again
and just when I am
about to fill in the final value
I feel the cold
upon the back of my neck
and laying my chalk aside
with shivering fingers
I rise to greet her
she is a dark oaken leaf
made black by her exile
from the sun
she moves to me
on a vapor of nightmares
and broken wishes
formless, nameless things
move about her feet
and whisper chapters of her name
the storm front of her mind
flows ahead of her advance
like the herald of death
I brace myself for the impact
but I am never fully prepared
warm thoughts of life
and the sun in cloudless skies
retreat and scurry from
her presence
I am left with nothing but
dark clouds
and the sound of falling rain
for my soundtrack
her theme eclipses all
as she halts before me
I drop to my knee
and take her ice-cold hand
in mine
I place a kiss upon it
that stings my lips
and stills my heart for several beats
She is neither woman nor man
she is an idea, of course, an emotion
but…
I am a gentleman in all things
why should it not be so, now?
with her
in this place
Yes I know I am in danger here
She revokes her touch
and with a sigh
of a broken heart
she takes a seat to review
my work
dark cloth covers
the curve of her thigh
as she crosses her legs
one over the other
with laced fingers across
bended knee
a humanly familiar
mundane set of muscle responses
for a decidedly
unnatural meeting
her face
the deep olive complexion
of a people of ancient times
she purses lips
painted in crimson berry-dye
her dark eyes
ebony trimmed
read across my calculations
my attention is fixed
between her contemplative expression
and the expanse of my work
does she see a pattern?
have I completed the cypher correctly?
will she be dissatisfied with my theory?
will she make modifications to my thesis?
she is the primordial Queen of Fear…
and I have struggled to overthrow her rule
ever since I was recruited to this battlefield
she and I have been adversaries forever
we have participated in this armistice
countless times
and I am always captivated
by her beauty and grace
I owe her a debt of gratitude
for she has sharpened my will
on the whetstone of failure

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lady Fear…

  1. Heartafire says:

    awesome!

  2. Emily C says:

    Speechless… πŸ™πŸΌ

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    She moves to me on a vapor of nightmares– I love that line.
    This is stunning, Eric. Truly well done personification of something we all face.

  4. Mr Modigliani says:

    I aspire to your talent Eric

  5. mandibelle16 says:

    Wonderful writing and what beautiful imagery your words create.

  6. I feel unable to adequately put into words how this makes me feel. You express things in a way I’d never be able to, and thus I’m at a loss…. In the best possible way. ❀️

  7. Wow! This is awesome, Eric! πŸ˜€ f (x) = no fear like the fear of not taking a chance. 😜

  8. No more words needed. πŸ’—

  9. Fear. I know her nuances and language well. Brillant writing and the imagery is otherworldly.

  10. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Oh I LOVE this and the one before it! See this is why I have to get WP working again! I miss gorgeous ballards like this! I know it’s not a ballard but it felt like one to me, it had that other worldly old ancientness about it – the kind we’re really into hence what we watch and read. You hit it exactly right tonewise.

  11. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Yes darling, oh yes. She’s a fierce Beauty, how we love & hate her so. I wish I was a better artist, you always make me want to bring your ladies to life…as I see them in my mind’s eye. I missed this. ❀

  12. moonskittles says:

    You got me at “chalk” and each verse held my breath tighter and tighter! Just gorgeous! ❀

Leave a Reply

