Engrams…

eye

Poets are time travelers
We revisit
We preexist
Most of the time
involuntary
forced into the past
or the future
at gunpoint
by a smell
or a sound
rarely a sight
sometimes a touch
I remember
very vividly
tagging your memory
with signs of
RESTRICTED AREA
I sealed you behind walls
I sealed you behind doors
Welded and Locked and Chained
then three words
Indigo, Luscious, Stutter
Produced this:

Drowning…
I was drowning in the deep blue of her eyes
and as the air was crushed from my lungs
I struggled to speak my own name
but she knew it
and had known it ever so long
so would it be
until the end of time
and how blue were her eyes
and how sweetly did I love
the crushing death
that I cherish the pain
of it
still

and I sent it to you
and you said
that you wish you had my ability
with words
to express something
so beautiful
that seems like ages ago
and feels like it only
happened yesterday
and I said

You do…

You just used
my hand to say it.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Engrams…

  1. Aww. Beautiful. The ending was magical

  2. I wish I had your ability with words. You string them together in such a beautiful, effortless, yet spinning web of absolute delight. BRAVO!! xoxo

  3. rachel says:

    i just had a poetry orgasm (can i say that?) reading this!!!!

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Damn. This is amazing. The end- talk about a mic drop! You amaze me, Poet. ❤

  5. Heartafire says:

    a gem!

  6. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Now this is the one giving me chills today. You never cease to amaze, and I am always entranced, wanting to read faster, wanting to slow down to savor…never wanting it to end. I never know how you’ll end, this one is magnificent. Xox ❤

    • Elizabeth Helmich says:

      ….then she realizes that probably would sound completely dirty taken out of context. Ummm…oops. I’ll just take Rachel’s comment up there and tack it on here… X 😉

    • Eric says:

      Thank you! I really am fond of this one too…it gives me chills as well. ❤

  7. Rita says:

    I love your words, BIL. You fill my heart ❤️

  8. Oh geez! I don’t want to go back to work now. Haha! Loved this! 😊 Blue eyed girls – we do a number on all men! 😉

  9. moonskittles says:

    Like a perfect wave that engulfs the heart, your words wash over me! ❤

  10. Chrissy says:

    poets are time travelers indeed, adore that first line!

  11. I do have to read you slowly, not missing one single word! I thought of you yesterday as I put the finishing touches on my post. For you do use such beautiful language! ❤️

  12. Emily says:

    Eric, you are supremely talented. Majorly impressed. ❤ I can feel your heart thousands of miles away…

    • Eric says:

      Oh thank you, Emily. Truly an honor coming from you. I appreciate it so much!

      • Emily says:

        The song lyric that just came into my head from No Doubt: “I’m just a girl in the world.” But, thank you for appreciating me. I appreciate you back.

        • Eric says:

          One could do worse than quoting a no doubt song to describe you!!! I loved them, seems like ages ago. Didn’t follow Gwen much once they called it quits.

Leave a Reply

