Relics of the Heart 3

Something a bit more revealing with these next 3….or perhaps, more confusing.
I’ve mentioned the name, Morena LaBorde, is written in the back of the book…
Well this is the first piece where I see that name mentioned.

You can look for yourself and tell me what you think.

boss

To My Boss

When the dew is on the roses
when my day’s work closes
and the grass is peeping through
I’ll be thinking dear, of you.

Of course I never see the roses,
and my day’s work never closes,
and the grass is just a dream,
‘Cause Morena, the salve is my theme.

I work in a War Plant for defense,
my button is yellow and orange, no need for pretense,
behind a typewriter you’ll find me,
slaving away at the CVAC.

Where the Red Button gets all the gravy,
they set their hair to make it wavy,
they prop their feet upon their desks,
while the rest of us do all the tasks.

But there is just one thing
I’d like to explain
that the Red Buttons don’t do sloppy
it’s shoot the bull, pass the buck, and say, “Make 6 carbon copies!”

Notes:

So this!! an all too familiar commentary on workplace ethics by “those in charge”
The references to Red Buttons and Yellow Buttons, are no doubt designations between supervisors and workers.

CVAC is Consolidated Vultee Aircraft Corporation….and there are w2 pay stubs that came along with the book for that company that are for that company and the name is M.M.Laborde

stub

So even though Morena was mentioned in the poem…could she be talking about herself here? Or is this something that Abel wrote about here? I’ll be honest. I don’t understand the reference to her either…

The next two poems are confusing too…because the first is spoken from a male perspective and the 2nd from a female perspective AND THEY BOTH HAVE THE SAME TITLE! πŸ˜‰

desire1My Desire

I wanta be like the sun,
Bright as the devil,
wanta be from the South,
be called a Rebel.

I want Shakespeare’s line
and all that stuff,
Woo, like Romeo,
as a caveman rough.

I wanta live in a Mansion,
Draw Henry Ford’s salary,
have a Cadillac for a car
Petty’s Art Gallery.

I wan Bing Crosby’s Voice,
Clark Gable’s looks,
Kayser’s ability,
and be the first on your books!

so this speaker (not the poet, necessarily) is a man…but this:

desire2My Desire

Don’t wanta be famous
Beautiful or smart
Don’t wanta be the idol
of everyman’s heart

Don’t wanta be an “Oomph, Girl”
Like little Ann
Or Gypsy Rose Lee
Behind a fan.

Don’t wanta be a career girl
who gives her boss a whirl
don’t wanta be a bathing beauty
or even a WAAC, the call of duty.

All I want is a little nest
Eleven boys and the rest
to have a home that is sweet
and you by my side
to make everything complete

…is decidedly female. *frustrated sigh*

So some references in here you may not understand:

Oomph Girl – a very sexually attractive woman, and the term is credited to Ann Sheridan..and after seeing pictures of her, I believe I would be inclined to utter an “Oomph!”

9048328f013d184926cf7d3ea84f1a3eAnn-Sheridan1

Gypsy Rose Lee – An American Burlesque Entertainer, also a very sexually attractive woman…who I would absolutely be inclined to utter an “Oomph!” about.

...are you kidding me?

…are you kidding me?

Seriously?...wow....are you fucking kidding me?

Seriously?…wow….are you fucking kidding me?

WAAC – Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps – the women’s division of the army during WW2 and a major part of our War Time Production facilities…they are responsible for building and assembling most of the planes, ships and ground vehicles as well as ammunition and supplies.

wacposterEleven Boys -….Umm…all I’ve got for this is…families were large back then…and bless her heart cuz….that’s being pregnant for most of your life….

So, Dear Friends…I am no closer ( I believe) to understanding whose journal this is…Maybe we’ll get lucky with the next few?

We’ll see.

Thank you for being here!

❀

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Relics of the Heart 3

  1. Rita says:

    Oh I think I love her!

  2. Rita says:

    And not fer nuttin’ – I used to dream of being a burlesque dancer as a young woman – all because of the fabulous Ms. GRL

  3. I love this post… wow
    You really have done some fabulous detective work, Eric.
    At first read the poems seem as if he ( Abel) is writing to her ( Morena) and that she in turn answers him, but the poems are in the same style and cadence as if by the same writer. Almost like a song.

  4. The mystery continues! πŸ™‚ Thanks for posting!

  5. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow! I have no idea who wrote these. The perspective change is interesting. I write stories from male/female POV but not poems.
    And I love those photos and even more, I love how much you love them. πŸ˜„ ❀️

  6. Ah the mystery continues! I also think perhaps Abel and Morena are writing a duet, back and forth. And the “oomph” girls? Was there ever a more sexy AND glamorous era? Nope…

  7. oh my goodness. How’s that for inspiration? The duet feel is enchanting.

  8. moonskittles says:

    Oh wow! I can see some wheels turning in your head.. perhaps you will write something inspired by this? πŸ˜€
    Blessings,
    Dajena ❀

  9. Emily says:

    You’ve hit the goldmine for poetic mysteries. I wonder if there’s literary historian you could contact who might offer more insight. Love the poetry itself, too!

  10. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Fascinating. I wish I was a better detective! All I’m stuck on now is thinking we need to bring back these “oomph” Girls!! Yay! Look forward to the next installment. I’m still rooting for Abel.

    • Eric says:

      I think I know a few Oomph Girls! πŸ˜‰ thanks Elizabeth! πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Elizabeth Helmich says:

        Me too, but boy do I miss those clothes! Spectacular. I’ve got not one place to wear my sequins & gloves other than my imagination. πŸ˜‰

        • Eric says:

          Lol!! Why am I not surprised that you own things that contain the words “sequins” and “gloves” and I’m quite sure you have the perfect hair for “victory rolls” πŸ˜‰ ❀

          • Elizabeth Helmich says:

            I never thought of doing those, but I’m quite sure someone could fix up this mane of mine! I actually bought a spectacular black flapper dress years ago…oh, it was stunning!! Rather sad I don’t have it anymore. I think I still have some gloves stowed away…:)

            • Eric says:

              I’m sure you did look stunning! πŸ™‚ those older days, people had more of a sense of attention to detail when it came to their looks. Even common clothes worn every day had special qualities to them.

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              I’m sitting here, trying to remember where I wore it. I think it must have been to a play, many years ago with an old boyfriend. Yes, many fine details. When I started learning about dressmaking, it was amazing how many details there used to be. Also, with the tailored suits…yumm. I digress. But you’re right, even the extra buttons, gathers and tucks and things were evident in ‘plain’ clothes.

            • Eric says:

              One of the coolest pictures I’ve seen is from Mardi Gras in 1920something it’s a picture of Canal st. In new Orleans and there is a sea of people and everyone, man woman and child has some sort of Hat on. Hats used to be a part of daily dress!! that’s unbelievable to me bc I can’t stand them! Lol

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              Especially the 3-pieces suits, and long sleeves, and yes – the HATS – in the Summer!!! Ack. No wonder perfume was so popular. πŸ˜‰

            • Eric says:

              I suppose it was a way of life for them…but if I had to wear a hat, here, during the day….I would die! πŸ˜•

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              Then I will remain glad that you are living here, and now, in this era. Not that you aren’t an incarnation of a previous romantic gentleman poet… πŸ™‚ ❀ πŸ™‚

            • Eric says:

              Ahhh..maybe I am? But being here in this time with you is much better anyway. Thank you, Elizabeth. ❀

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              You are a doll. Can I say that? I guess I just did. I’d totally clone you if I could. πŸ˜‰

  11. mandibelle16 says:

    Very neat Eric. These journals are very fascinating I can tell for you, but also those of us you are blogging about them too. I love the references and words that are from another generation, they are interesting and thanks for the extra bits of pictures and info to explain things. I think the journal has poems from him and poems he’s written down that she’s written to. It’s a possibility?

    • Eric says:

      At this point, anything is a possibility, Mandi. Thank you for following this with me. We’ve got a little ways to go yet…maybe something will point in a more clear direction soon.

Leave a Reply

