Ripples….

Water-Ripple-3

The night air
like a gentle lover’s fingers
combed through her hair
perhaps it found a kinship in
its ebony hue
it tussled and tossed her locks
against the side of my face
silken strands getting caught
in the stubble of my smile
our breath came
in billowing white clouds
synonyms for forever
attempted to placate the passage of time
floated to our lips from well-intentioned hearts
but I
I am as a distant star to her
A pinpoint of light
whose dying moment
is all that she sees
My light will reach her
but my heart never will
even now
as the engrams of her image fade
and remembrances of jasmine and honey
dance at the tip of my nose
the scent of her lingers still
on this page where my words
coalesce
and begin the futile work to define
the sound of her name

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Ripples….

  1. Your poem moved from closeness to distance, while coursing with tenderness throughout. A sadness in the sounds of the stream. A beauty and a sadness.

    • Eric says:

      Thanks August! I actually didn’t realize that it does work like that! Amazing what others show me in my own work. When it comes out here it is just a steady flow from the heart…I don’t notice things like this until after. Thank you!

      • I’ve heard that writing has many lives. In the head of the writer, then the heads of all who read it. I can’t remember who said that, but it was profound. We weave things into our writing without realizing it.

  2. Siren's Musings says:

  3. Beautiful and sweet!

  4. maharedwynn says:

    Love the scent of jasmine and honey! The sense of smell is the ‘oldest’ sense … It can evoke some of our earliest memories and stir some of our deepest emotions. Jasmine and honey will always make you think of her! ❤️

  5. Something melodic about this one. Wishful and bittersweet. Really lovely and well crafted. Pencil fabulous xx

  6. rachel says:

    i just got completely lost in this. i couldn’t even begin to choose my favorite line. they are all breathtaking.

  7. I wanted to chose a favorite line of this master piece but i just can’t, it is to perfect. Marvelous

  8. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful! It’s funny how much I love the sound of the names of the people I love. That last thought is a powerful one. This piece brings me smiles and tears. ❤

  9. Pingback: Award: Epically Awesome Award – Mandibelle16

  10. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Sensual, earthy delight. Your wonders never cease to amaze me. ❤

  11. moonskittles says:

    While the pen may not be able to write her name, the scent has tattooed it on your beating heart. ❤

  12. Eric, your poetry moves me so. It’s evocative of so much – I’m transported and can hear, taste, feel, see, smell…your words are powerful, poignant and beautiful. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

