Kings over Queens…

A pop and a brief
smell of sulphur
I bring the match
to the end of the cigar
draw in the air
tip glows cherry red
shake out the flame
flick of my free hand
discard the match with its black curled end
draw in the sweet taste of
dead leaves that cost a hell of a lot
more than that price on my head
a grey thunderstorm rolls out
of my mouth
and gently floats into
the second story
like a rain cloud sneaking up
on an angel
it reaches Maria
leanin’ on the upstairs banister
dark eyes, looking down on me
like she did last night
when she came to my room and
threw those coffee-colored thighs
around my hips
and boiled over like water
onto a cast iron stove
she sizzled like holy water
on the devil’s cock
and then we murdered a bottle of red-eye
before she draped herself over me
like a warm, soft blanket
that smelled like juniper and rosewater
slept off the haze with my hand
cupped around what’s hidin’ under that
black frilled bustle of hers
I give her a wink as I set my cigar
into the corner of my mouth
Pinewood mingles with woodsmoke
hanging heavy in the tense air
at our tavern table
See?
it was round the second hand’a’cards
this fella figured he didn’t like my
Miss-Zippy accent
I found a way to tell him
I was pretty tired
of his gap-toothed brown and yella grin
Right side of the Saloon cleared out
when I laid my Colt over my lap
left side cleared out
when I cocked the hammer back
must be that money following me
around and those posters
makes folks all jumpy as hell
all on’a count of that
claim-jumper in Dodge city
drew down in the street
preacher-man got in between us
I sent a chunk-a-lead
into genesis clean through deuteronomy
before he got my point
sent him back to the chapel
to change his britches and his outlook on life
it was legal
law don’t say it was
but it was
now this goofy-sum-bitch
thinks he’s gonna reach for that
card he’s got in his boot
and live to tell the tale
his boy over there
has been eye-fuckin
me from the bar
sent the tender to clear out the back
but what he don’t understand
is once I finish poking six holes
in his partner here
that sawed-off scatter gun’s
gonna paint this room
a particular shade of stupid
but I don’t think it’s gonna come to that
cuz ole’boy here is shaking
like a sapling in a thunderstorm
and irrigating his side of the table
with a funky-smellin
shower of salt and lost pride
I think he mighta even pissed himself
I bring the colt up and nudge my hat back
before I lay my hand out on the table
3 kings nod their approval
and 2 ladies hide coy smiles behind folded fans
My eyes don’t look to my cards
only a wink at the cold fish across the way
“looks like there’s no more room at the inn”,
I puff, letting the cigar smoke carry my arrogance
he blinks at the colt muzzle staring him down
“I’ll get your bags…you pay the bill”
cards

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Kings over Queens…

  1. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Whoa – Yes! Eric. this is fabulous. I’m right there, in that scene. You’ve got it down pat, loved it!! Have you seen the “The Hateful Eight”? The rawness here reminded me of it.

    • VictoryInTrouble says:

      omg, The Hateful Eight! That movie left me shaking my head going, “wtf did I just watch?”

      • Elizabeth Helmich says:

        Wasn’t it SO great though?? Hit me right in the gut, just like our Sweet Eric loves to do. πŸ™‚

        • VictoryInTrouble says:

          Ha, I hated it!

          • Elizabeth Helmich says:

            Aw…poor dear. I thought it was brilliant! I’m more twisted, you’re just more perverted. 😜

            • VictoryInTrouble says:

              Ha ha, I will claim that. I’m super sensitive about what I watch. I’m the biggest horror baby ever and can’t really deal with gratuitous…I don’t know…pain, I guess. Tarantino movies get to me.

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              I’ve watched these types of movies for so long, I’m rarely phased anymore, I must admit. I don’t consider this horror, because that is what I can’t stand. I’ll hold your hand Vic, and shield your eyes until it’s all over. πŸ™‚ xo

            • VictoryInTrouble says:

              No, I don’t think it’s horror either but I was just saying that I’m sensitive to that too. But if you hold my hand I’m sure I could do it! πŸ˜‹πŸ˜€

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              You know how bad I’m holding back from inappropriate comments about that statement, right? I’ll try to be respectful of crashing Eric’s board once again, so I’ll just have to message you my thoughts….hee hee. πŸ™‚

            • VictoryInTrouble says:

              Lol, I am wracking my brain and can’t think of anything inappropriate about that. Maybe you are the most perverted!! πŸ˜³πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‡

            • Elizabeth Helmich says:

              Highly likely. *Yanks head from gutter*

            • VictoryInTrouble says:

              LOL! I’m still waiting for you to tell me what your dirty mind thought up! πŸ˜›

        • Eric says:

          But I always pick you up afterwards don’t I? πŸ˜‰

    • Eric says:

      Thanks Elizabeth! I want to but I haven’t yet! Hell on Wheels is mostly to blame. πŸ˜‰ been watching a lot of that lately. ❀

  2. Love the storytelling aspect of it! Fantastic!

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Love this, Eric! The language was spot on! You painted such a good picture of this scene. Did you see it play out in your head? I’m wondering what the inspiration was. Just so good!!

  4. moonskittles says:

    Whoa!! or should I say: Yeeeeehaw! πŸ˜‰
    ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀
    I puff, letting the cigar smoke carry my arrogance– this totally got me!

  5. mandibelle16 says:

    Great job doing this in charscter as a cowboy. Enjoyed!

  6. i like this so much, to me it comes so vivid, i dont know if for your other readers.

  7. Rita says:

    Holy shit! Holy shit! Holy shit! ‘Like holy water on the devil’s cock’ !!! Damn boy, if you weren’t my lil’ bro – I think I’d be tempted beyond redemption.

    That card playin’, gun totin’ talk is just the right kind of bad boy chatter. Holy shit😳

  8. I’m.never seen Heel on Wheels so I’m picturing Doc Holliday. This is pencilling epic and I’m your huckleberry.

  9. Captivating. I love when you can read something and you can taste it and smell it and feel it and… you certainly gave all that to me Eric! Loved it.

  10. Ugh, gave* Cannot type this morning. Sorry.

  11. A. M. Yeager says:

    Whoa, Eric! :] I’ve been watching Hell on Wheels and then came across this! This is killer!

Leave a Reply

