Departure…

man-walkingshe sobbed
against my shoulder
in my arms
as I held her tight.
knowing what had to be…
I asked,”Do you want me to leave?”
she answered, “Yes.”
and because I loved her

I did

he and I passed each other
on my way out the gate
and I secretly hoped
he’d trip
on the chain
of the heart-shaped anchor
I was dragging

*poetry prompt on twitter shot an arrow right through my heart this morning. The prompt was. “What’s the craziest thing you ever did for love?” I’m sure a lot of people put things down like, “I jumped up and down naked on the jumbo-tron at the sports arena.” or “I had sex in an elevator, on top of a dishwasher”…..I don’t know….

Mine, was that I let go.
Because it was the right thing to do.

But 140 characters, looks like this:

she sobbed
in my arms
I held her tight.
knowing what had to be
I asked,”Do you want me to leave?”
she answered, “Yes.”
and I did

But, it needed more. “Old westerns” taught me that in order to get an arrow out…you have to bear down and push it all the way through. It’s gonna hurt like hell…but it’ll feel a lot better once it’s out.

It’s better now.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Departure…

  1. rachel says:

    you beautiful man.

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    damn. damn damn damn. This does things to me…
    I’m glad it’s better now. ❤

  3. This certainly hit the mark.

  4. The heartache in this poem is deep, and you created it without making a cheesy poem (a trap that can be easily fallen into). I’m glad you didn’t write about dancing naked on a jumbo tron. Your poem is so much richer than that.

  5. Al Lane says:

    Tender and heartbreaking. Heady stuff, Eric!

  6. No words. You know what I’m sayin’? ❤ ❤ ❤

  7. this one is really deep, amazing stuff

  8. maharedwynn says:

    Oh damn it. You might just be perfect, Eric. 😩

  9. Letting go is suckage but this poem is not. Wow. I’m so articulate tonight

  10. Wow… this is so beautifully written… and with such emotion. I read it 3 times… (or more, not sure… wasn’t counting…)

  11. Rita says:

    Lil’ Bro this is absolutely powerhouse beauty. Letting go . . . . one of life’s hard rights.

  12. Emily says:

    Oh…my….have I been here before. Sigh…this is so poignant, Eric. I have no other words right now, it just brings up all kinds of feelings, not the least of which would be to hug you. ❤

  13. jennyhayut says:

    This is when I hate twitter. I miss so much feed! How many of us know that feeling unfortunately all too well. Ironically, I chose the same path when becoming inspired by a similar prompt, “most beautiful thing you’ve seen” I flashed back to my Grams, in the hospital, in essence as I still believe all these years later waiting for me to arrive before letting go. Literally whispering in her ear, I’ll be okay Grams, and watching her take her last breath and float away after a lifetime of suffering. Letting go. A powerful, sometimes beautifully emotionally charged thing that we somehow survive and grow from in one way or another. Thanks for sharing Eric ☺

  14. moonskittles says:

    That indeed is the craziest thing for love.. hurting ourselves, going against our own nature.
    ❤ ❤

  15. I, too, am glad it’s better now. I love how you always add another extra layer of depth to what you write. You go the extra mile for your reader (me). I love this about you Eric.

Leave a Reply

