Relics of the Heart 6…

Continuing with this series, I held off posting these. Since I had posted a few pieces that were pulling pretty hard at the heart strings….I’m starting to get closer and closer to who I believe this journal belongs to..and after these, I’m more convinced than ever it belongs to Morena!

20160601_080133Lonely Girl in the Moonlight

Sparkling ring in the moonlight
lonely girl in the night
Many times has she dreamed of him
praying he is still alright

Shining ring in the starlight
lonely girl dressed in white
as she sits by her window
her lover has gone off to fight

She touches her ring and looks above
The ring that is the symbol of their love
with her face uplifted she breathes a sigh
“no” she thinks, I must not cry

A cloud comes over and hides the moon
it is dreary and dark now within her room
She turns away, with her eyes downcast
The sparkle has gone but their love will last

20160601_080147

Untitled

It is so hard to be
just a friend to you
when I always see
and love the things you do

Just the little things
you do and say
makes my heart take wing
and flies away

It is so hard to be
Happy and Gay
To pretend that we
just live for today

‘Cause darling I know
as well as you
that I love you so
and will always be true

I don’t want to say
Friend, but instead, Sweetheart
and to live for the day
We will never part

Untitled

It hurts so badly when
to you the world is bright
Then wake up in the end
and find your dream is out of sight

It hurts so badly to find
How much you mean to me
then suddenly know you don’t mind
tearing and breaking my heart with glee

I try and said it doesn’t matter
just a passing fancy too
But I’m the ball and you the batter
and you knock me away from you

I’ll forget, I know that now
and look back and laugh, someday
pretend I’m happy somehow
When you are far away

I’ll be glad when you’re gone
and my heart stops aching
When again, life is a song
and to stop this awful faking

And so, you’re not for me
Our kisses all in vain
It was never meant to be
Now, there is no more pain

That’s all for now, no more to say
You know just how I feel
Someday, my boy, you shall pay
and I hope to hell you will!

Yep…after that last one. I’m giving this round to Morena. And I am definitely glad I am not the “boy” in that last stanza…because I have a feeling he drew a lot of fire for being the muse for that one!

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Relics of the Heart 6…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh my goodness, that first poem is a killer! And yes, I fear for that boy’s life, lol.
    I thought about this book last night as I typed the password for my writing program. With all the electronic technology now, these kind of treasures will be fading out. Maybe I need to write with paper and pen sometimes and keep a book (of clean poems, lol).

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    I’d have to agree, these ar very much poems written by a woman πŸ™‚

  3. This is just amazing. β™₯ I adore writing on paper. I used to do it always, but now, only occasionally. A while back, I had packed many notebooks away, and my memory sucks so I kind of forgot about them. I rediscovered them 6 or 7 months ago and it was the best! I even wrote a blog post about it. I guess I was excited. I found things I’d forgotten I wrote… from high school… college… and up to around the time my son was born (11 years ago). Kind of like finding hidden treasure except not worth millions. Well, except to me. πŸ™‚ (Sorry… rambling on…)

  4. I believe you’re right about the female voice. The first one breaks my heart, what a position to be in… I’m curious about who the other boy is in the last poem though! Same one, only he turned out to be a scoundrel? But the timing would be all wrong. This is so fascinating!!! ❀️

  5. maharedwynn says:

    I keep a notebook, myself but much of what’s written in it is undecipherable to anyone but me! This though… Such a time capsule. These are really cool. Poor Morena. What a roller coaster of emotions! Thank you for sharing! ❀️

  6. Rita says:

    These are fabulous. What a wonderful peek into the past you are giving us.

  7. Emily says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us. You know…I wonder if a publisher would be interested in putting the poetry together in a book with historical asides, just as you are doing. You could write it. πŸ™‚ Just sayin’… Perhaps even into a romance movie loosely based on the poetry in this book. It’s truly fascinating. Or you could just keep it to yourself, and us, of course. ❀

  8. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    I can see why this is pulling more, and more at your own heart Eric, there is a real intimacy showing here.. I feel her war cry in that last one – yes! Such deep sadness, and longing in the first, and second. What a treasure this is! ❀

  9. thefeatheredsleep says:

    There is such a beauty in these words. I agree with what everyone has already said here. Love the new pic also.

  10. moonskittles says:

    Wow Eric, I am with you. And boy oh boy, what a fire cracker in that last stanza! πŸ™‚
    Love your new avatar! πŸ™‚

  11. So glad you’re sharing. Such a wonderful find

Leave a Reply

