Psyche…

waterhouse_psyche_opening_the_golden_box

Psyche and the Golden Box Waterhouse 1905

fair dust
but dust none-the-less
her flesh would return
upon a dreary grave to the earth
as blessed with the same disease
of a slow death
was she
as we
from birth
received upon the earth a mortal
and by her first day’s dawning light
fairer beauty was never known to sight
to draw other hearts
from end to ragged end
of the planet we all shared
the very ground
supported her weight with a sigh
to aid such allure in ambulation
to deliver her aura
day upon day
to the wide places of her realm
and they would come to see
no fairer beauty there was than she
and Aphrodite’s verdant stare
flash fire raged in her goddess heart
then was Eros sent to bend her
love
toward a man, of grisly countenance
But when Cupid’s eyes found hers
the evil deed, soon forgotten
the strings of his heart
tangled within her gentle fingers
Covetous Venus
summoned her to Hades
to retrieve a box of beauty gold
and when death poured out
upon curiosity’s bold opening
it laid upon her tender cheek
a final kiss of ending

*Author’s note:  It’s official. I am completely enthralled with John Waterhouse’s paintings. I could look at them all day. They are so gorgeous.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Psyche…

  1. They are indeed stunning.

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow, I love how you tell the stories in the paintings. I don’t know much about mythology but you make me want to read up. 🙂
    “the very ground
    supported her weight with a sigh
    to aid such allure in ambulation”
    If that isn’t beauty!! 🙂
    Lovely, my darling! ❤

  3. Heartafire says:

    such beautiful writing, stunning Eric!

  4. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    I’m gone. I’ve died in this one. The beauty and truth made palpable.

  5. Emily says:

    I was drawn to the same passage Vic was drawn to. Beautiful words for beautiful art, from a beautiful soul. 🙂

  6. trE says:

    If they’re going to have you writing like this, I say look at them all day! Very nice, very nice, indeed.

  7. Geetha B says:

    So very beautiful Eric and I agree about the paintings

  8. A. M. Yeager says:

    Definitely agree with you on Waterhouse’s paintings. Your poem goes so well with it!

  9. maharedwynn says:

    Oh this is gorgeous! And I love that the paintings inspired this. I’m off to check it out. 😍

  10. ALways spot on with pictures and words, nicely done

  11. Is it appropriate to type *sighs* over and over again. You capture the essence of the paintings – I see and feel your words when I look upon the painting. I’d love this in your voice…so I could look whilst hearing.

  12. I can see why you love Waterhouse’s paintings… and this piece feels almost like a soundtrack for the Psyche painting. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

