Will-O-Wisp

spanish-moss3there are pieces
of broken hearts
I can hear them
feel them
under my feet as I step
through the muck and the mire
through this black water as it
slurries and sloshes around my waist
like cold and clammy hands
each step rushes icy fingers
past my stomach
every inch I move
I take ragged, stuttered breaths
one mud-slick hand holds the lantern
the other makes crutches
of Cypress knees
blind and slimy things
wriggle away from my approach
the bullfrog gives up his pad
and the water hyacinth
shrinks from my touch
the glowing eyes of gators
watch me from the shallows
as above me
the spanish moss snakes down
on bearded rope
to tug at my shoulders
to warn me
convince me
not to follow
not to look for her
but it is a fever that tears
at the fabric behind my eyes
when I try to sleep
3 nights ago I saw her
silently she moved
between the Water Oak and the Cat-tails
lightning bugs swarmed about her shoulders
illuminating her sylvan features
her soft and subtle curves
the gentle sway of her hips
as she bent elegantly
to kiss each spider lily and swamp rose
her silken tresses played
gently against her cheeks
as she surveyed her domain
Her bright smile
bathed in silver moonlight
as night birds and insects
serenaded her regal procession
and I
a dumbfounded fool
caught sight of her sultry eyes
as she lifted her hand to me
and beckoned with a slender finger
and with a whisper
of the wind in the trees
she spoke my name
and commanded my heart
to find her
and still I search…
and still her emerald light
eludes me….

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Will-O-Wisp

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh wow! I wasn’t sure where this was going. Seemed scary, like something bad would happen. Your imagery is always amazing. I hope he finds her!

  2. Oh, this is beautiful. It made me think of how we will go through anything for love… (and many of us have!)

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    Extremely interesting. Him going through the muck and mire to find this woman who has caught his eye. Who says come find me. Does he actually find her, or is that part of her poison, entrancing men who will never see her in her habitat again.

    • Eric says:

      Hey Mandi! As the legends of Will-o-wisps go…there is no actual woman. People see what they want in the mysterious lights and then follow them out into the swamps..usually to their deaths. Hopefully he’ll snap out of it before it’s too late.

  4. moonskittles says:

    Gulp… okay Eric, this matches my feelings when I wrote Gretel under spell.. hmm.. riding same waves again eh? 🙂 🙂
    ❤ ❤

  5. Just gorgeous, Eric, simply exquisite. xo

  6. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Such sneaky ones, those Will-o’-the-wisps! I think I’ve been chasing after one myself, after all, who can resist? Love your description of walking through the water especially.

  7. Meg Sorick says:

    You are such a storyteller… Poor lovestruck man. But oh it could metaphorically happen to any of us. And probably has. Great visuals! As always, I love it!

  8. I hope he brought a flashlight and has his GPS turned on.

    Seriously, I friggin love this. You’re amazing

  9. This is one of my favorite pieces, Eric. I don’t know why. The imagery, the desperation, the need… Also, I love Will-o-the-Wisps. I mean, I don’t love being lured or drowned but, you know, love the stories. Do you get many in the swamps there? 😉
    This is stunning. #mast 💚

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Sarah! I know what you mean. I’ve never seen one but I’ve heard plenty of stories growing up. Still gives me chills thinking about them.. #mast 💚

  10. Rita says:

    I just love the Poet! The stories he weaves, the epics he unveils, the heart he displays.

  11. Emily says:

    Such a seductive tale…alluring, exquisitely written. And adds to my desire to visit your state. 🙂

Leave a Reply

