Decisions…

Daenerys Stormborn

Daenerys Stormborn

she, decided that today
would be the day
that the mountains bowed

she, just as powerful
as the force that drags the snow
down from their rumpled beards

she, who would reach out her hands
and mold her world
like a child’s lump of clay
carving deep valleys
in the golden sunlight
filled with Crepe Myrtle and Pines
and the sweet singing sounds
of life, and joy and the happiness
of a heart, unshackled from the pain
of unknowing

she, was a rare and beautiful snowflake
who basked in the glory of the midday sun
and refused to melt

 

*this was inspired by a twitter prompt that is run by Sarah Brentyn

Sarah is a wonderful writer and a dear friend… i sent this to her over twitter and told her, “look what you did” She said she loved it. Please visit her blog if you have the time.

Also, Long Live Daenerys Stormborn!

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Decisions…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, I love that last stanza the best. That’s powerful! I don’t watch the show but you wrote a beautiful poem!

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    OH GOD YES!!!!!!
    *screamed from highest mountain repeatedly*

  3. thefeatheredsleep says:

    If someone doesn’t watch the show / change that / as much as it’s got tits and ass and violence / it won’t disappoint on the sheer gravitas of its story and emerging heroines! Daenerys forever!

  4. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Yep. Read this three times so far. The images! A favorite of mine! GORGEOUS work!

    • Eric says:

      Awww…thank you so much, Shieldmaiden! I am smiling from ear to ear!!! Love you! β™‘

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        I expect you KNEW how this poem would be received, just on subject-matter alone but to actually write a really SUPERB poem irrespective of subject-matter, well THAT is a truly talented thing to do and I must confess this is definitely one favorite of mine, I absolutely LOVE it! You did GoT credit my friend! Now we only need wait a YEAR! πŸ™‚

        • Eric says:

          You are filling my heart up with such pride! I hope I’ve done well by Daenerys. I love her. She’s an amazing character. I would definitely been just like Sir Jorah. β™‘β™‘β™‘

  5. I have never seen the show… but this is quite powerful. I need some of that… power!

  6. Eric I knew the piece was going to be spectacular coming from you πŸ™‚ Maybe, EVERYDAY should be that day πŸ™‚ ❀ loved it!

  7. PS…. Love the new gravatar πŸ™‚

  8. Rita says:

    I just love this

  9. trE says:

    You had me here:

    “drags the snow
    down from their rumpled beards

    she, who would reach out her hands
    and mold her world
    like a child’s lump of clay”

    And, there, I kind of remained. This is beautiful. Definitely a show-stopper. Peace~

  10. Geetha B says:

    Lovely Eric. It almost got me wanting to watch the show but I don’t watch TV anymore.

  11. Oh game of thrones, lol

  12. Meg Sorick says:

    Ok now I really have to watch this show! Damn it Eric! You’re all tempty with this one! πŸ™ƒ

  13. A seriously powerful woman!

  14. Great stuff, Brother!

  15. thefeatheredsleep says:

    DEAR ToothFairy, God & Father Xmas, PLEASE encourage/inspire Eric to write another poem LIKE THIS ONE~! Keep them coming! Game of Thrones! You are the horse whisperer!

    • Eric says:

      Lol!!! I’m going to write one just for you. I’ll need a couple of days but I promise you’ll know it when you see it. πŸ™‚

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        If it’s even in the realm of the last one then all dragon and GoT fans shall unite. Do Daeneres proud!

  16. Aw…thanks for the mention and so thrilled to be even a tiny part of inspiring this magnificent piece. Hey, so when I said how much I loved this, I had NO idea it was inspired by GoT. And…I’ve never seen it. (I know.) What’s funny is I took one of those silly online quizzes and it said I was this character. Enough rambling. You may delete all this and keep the following:

    OMGs! I absolutely LOVE this. Love. Fangirling over this one. *swoon*
    #mast ❀️

  17. Love this. Empowering and beautiful. Kudos to you for writing this poem and to Sarah for the inspiration

  18. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Hells YES! You knew I’d love this one too. It’s about time!! Nope, no melting for this little fire-bringer, never to be underestimated. ❀

  19. moonskittles says:

    She sounds like one fit for a knight like you πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Eric says:

      Oh!! Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments, Poetess. So thrilled to see you here and so appreciate your time and attention. I’m sorry if I scared you a little with Id..but I’m glad I made up for it with the others. Have a wonderful day, Dajena! ❀

Leave a Reply

