Charmeuse and Chiffon…


Maybe I was here
Some time
Before my time
Maybe I can go back
To when she was an avatar
Of all my passion and joy
When, in these worlds
Together entwined, we
Spiraled around this dance floor
She, a living, breathing moonbeam
Wrapped in Charmeuse and Chiffon
With lips like rose petals
And eyes of darkest night
White opera gloves against black tuxedo sleeves
Pearls on alabasterΒ and diamond cuff links
Art Deco framework and stained glass
Crystal Chandeliers and vibrant tones
Escaping into the night air
As twilight stars kiss
her bare shouldered beauty
And even now
as I lean on the
centuries old balcony
I close my eyes and imagine
a time
when the French doors behind me
threw light upon the manicured garden below
when the sounds of a waltz drifted
down across azaleas and juniper hedge and the light tinkling of crystal flutes overflowing with effervescent laughter
as if Gatsby himself might come up behind me, at any moment, to talk
about love….and life

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Charmeuse and Chiffon…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful, Eric! I especially like this:
    “She, a living, breathing moonbeam
    Wrapped in Charmeuse and Chiffon
    With lips like rose petals
    And eyes of darkest night”

    Just lovely! Were you inspired by this photo?

  2. Emily says:

    Epitome of romance. Goodnight, love. ❀

  3. Oh my… wow, this is just gorgeous… wonderful… beautiful. You have a gift, my friend. β™₯

  4. Words can’t express my love for this poem. However, pencils can 5 pencils stars for your wordsmithing

  5. maharedwynn says:

    Beautiful, Eric! Love the ghost of Gatsby walking up to you… So dreamy! ❀️

  6. Aishwarya says:

    What beatitude imagery Eric! It felt like I was watching these beatitude things happen in front of my eyes… You are as amazing as ever! πŸ™‚

  7. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    OH – the moods! I can feel the pulse of it all, see it, hear the music. Such a great era (at least in theory). Everything was so beautiful, with excellent craftsmanship, just as your writing is Eric. ❀

  8. Eric, this piece is like the house, magical, mystical eternal. Thank you for sharing it.

  9. moonskittles says:

    This is honey for my longing soul! Loved it! ❀

Leave a Reply

