Youth…

cloverflowersMy Adult mind
drowning in tides of dust
Reaches back across
the ocean of time
To grasp the hand
of my child heart
which remembers
the Sorcery and Magic
of a place
where the day was measured
in mealtimes
Love, was quantified in
Paper Hearts
and
ragged and ordinary
clover flowers
were a bouquet
for a Queen….

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Youth…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful. Going back to a simpler time in my life sounds so appealing a lot of times. And I love those little bouquets I get from my boys. 🙂 Thanks for giving me a smile.

  2. maharedwynn says:

    Longing for the innocence of childhood. I love this, Eric. ❤️

  3. Beautiful Sir. 💋

  4. Oh, exactly. This is perfect! ♥♥♥

  5. Ms. Vee says:

    This is very beautiful. I needed to read these words today. My heart is heavy with the senseless killings going on in the world. Blessings and peace! ❤✌

  6. If only. Mad love for you and the poem

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Cute. I have this image of you as this sweet small boy, giving a clover to your six-year-old crush. Great nostalgia in this poem 🙂

  8. chesca says:

    Aww Eric, this is lovely. Even though I’m just in my teenage years, I already miss my 7-year old self with that sweet innocence.

  9. Back to simpler times… Oh, what a dream! Beautifully written ❤️ 🙂

  10. Meg Sorick says:

    Yeah, sometimes it’s no fun being a grown up. I’d gladly return to those carefree days of running around barefoot, splashing in the creek, catching frogs and picking pretty weeds to make bouquets… Lovely and wistful. ❤️

  11. RAS says:

    Yes indeed ❤

  12. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    At least I still get to relive these moments in my children. Nothing better than the wide-eyed look of simple joy, and discovery. Funny thing is…I think I still get like this too. Nature always brings it out. This is lovely, Eric. ❤ ❤ ❤

  13. I’m totally crying. I love this one so much. (Is this one of the poems you transferred to text from photo? It’s so familiar and I remember having the same reaction then.) 🌸🌼💚 #mast

  14. moonskittles says:

    Your metaphors leave me breathless. Love where this poem took me and I’m staying there for a while. On a clover and honey field. ☺️❤️

  15. Aww your words! ❤️

  16. Emily says:

    Don’t know how I missed this one, but amazing, Eric. Beautiful capture of childhood memories ❤

  17. thefeatheredsleep says:

    YES!

Leave a Reply

