The Talisman…

600737_437643212934759_2107049847_n

He sleeps
and I keep watch
at my post
tangled in his arms
in the small hours
of the night
by tooth or claw
no evil can harm him
and when comes the day
that I am relieved from my post
I’ll have great cause
to brag and to boast
that he’s learned to protect
the ones he loves
as I did for him
when he was
a cub

My son is growing up. And I am starting to find more and more that “Bear” *seen above* is found further and further away from him. It was given to him by his precocious Sister at 3 years old. She demanded that she give her baby brother a present when he was born and being put on the spot by a very demanding young lady…he was the best I could find at the time. Bear has never been far away from him (until recently) and indeed I have made several trips back to relative’s houses who live quite a distance away..to retrieve him. There have been late night “bear hunts” to find him when he rolls out from under the covers in the middle of the night. But distraught little boys at 2am will not be going back to sleep unless their Bear has been found.  I have found him on the floor next to the bed, when I check on the kids before I leave for work. I always pick him up, in the grey morning light..and tuck him back in right next to his best friend.

And I’ve had serious discussions with my son that go: “Excuse me Sir..but when I come into your room this morning, I found a very dangerous creature sleeping on the floor near your bed. Honestly, if you are going to keep a bear with you…you should make sure that he is properly secured!!”

To which he almost always responds, “Dad…bear is not dangerous”

to which I always respond, “Excuse me? He is a bear, Sir. and is therefore quite dangerous! I would appreciate you taking this matter more seriously!!”

To which there is always much giggling and another reassurance that Bear is not dangerous.

Each time I pick him up, I find he is a little more 2-dimesional. He’s been squished flat with love..most of his stuffing has been pummeled to dust. His fur is far from its original color..now more a hue that denotes the copious amounts of tears and snot that inhabit its fibers! Oh yes…he has been a kleenex proxy more than once….. I’m waiting for the day when I can see that Bear truly has been relieved from duty. I hope, it’s before he splits at the seam or simply disintegrates. I want to preserve him..and at some point…give him back to my son.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Talisman…

  1. rachel says:

    i’m swiping at tears. this is so close to home for me. i was buying new socks yesterday for feet that won’t stop growing. i found myself getting emotional at target over socks. sigh. soso bittersweet. 💙

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Omg, I’m convinced you’re perfect.
    My kids are growing so fast. I’ve told them to stop but they aren’t listening. 😪

  3. Oh, Eric, just wonderful. I’m lucky enough to have a 3 year old grandson and its like being given a chance to relive all those moments ❤

  4. Heartafire says:

    This is so adorable. And sweet. They grow up too fast but he’ll never forget Bear. Nor will you.

  5. Meg Sorick says:

    It’s these kinds of things that make me wonder how children would’ve changed my life. So very sweet Eric. Make sure you keep bear for him. I think Vic might be on to something…. ❤

  6. Oh, this is so sweet! ♥ My daughter still has (and hugs) her “first doll” every night. It is a doll, but a stuffed, very soft one… from Grandma (my mom). And my son… he’s got his tiger… though he sits at the corner of the bed most of the time. And the white stripes are really not white anymore!

    I secretly have a second tiger exactly like that one. I hid it in my closet when my boy was almost 2 just in case, God forbid, Tiger one ever went missing and couldn’t be found! I cannot wait until the day comes when I give it to him… maybe he will give it to his child. ♥

  7. maharedwynn says:

    So sweet! What lucky kids to have such an awesome Dad!

  8. RAS says:

    A weepy day continues it seems. This is why I am blessed to have found my lol’ brother! He’s quite a man ❤️

  9. mandibelle16 says:

    Aw so cute 🙂 Your sons bear reminds me of Maggie’s bear on the Simpsons, it comes with her everywhere and has also been left all over.

  10. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    Adorable on all counts. I love everything about it! Yes, absolutely, you must keep this bear for him – your Fatherly duty!!!

  11. Ms. Vee says:

    So precious. Children grow up so quickly. It sounds like your son is a little man! Blessings and peace dear friend!!!!✌💙☺

Leave a Reply

