Answering to the wind…

John William Waterhouse "Wind Flowers" 1903

John William Waterhouse “Wind Flowers” 1903

She swirled
and danced among the wildflowers
and the rolling green waves
of the meadow
while the summer sun
played in Her auburn hair

as the last notes of a bright and joyous song
spilled from Her smiling lips
She paused and affixed Her eyes
upon the distance horizon

the air at Her back
caught her dress and her hair
sailing them out like banners
from the ramparts of a fortress

and I watch Her
there from under the spruce scented hem
of the forest’s arboreal gown
and cherish the ink we share

for it runs down every facet of my heart
in every language that She and I have known
and to speak it
is to breathe fire
in a realm of ice

and worry becomes a stranger once again

for there is nothing
so reassuring
as when I calm my mind
and can hear Her speaking to me

nothing so strong as when
She cups her hands around my heart
and breathes a kiss upon its quivering surface

anchoring my soul to this world…

…Her world…

and then…
Do my emotions orbit Her
like beautifully painted
autumn leaves
answering to the wind

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Answering to the wind…

  1. Rita says:

    Exquisite my brother! Exquisite.

  2. Elegant and nicely done

  3. This is beautiful, Eric ♥

  4. maharedwynn says:

    Oh, man. Dying… You don’t have a single brother, do you? 😀

  5. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    I can see her, feel her, hold her close! Gorgeous writing. ❤

  6. trE says:

    This is exceptionally beautiful. Especially these lines, Eric:

    “and cherish the ink we share

    for it runs down every facet of my heart
    in every language that She and I have known
    and to speak it
    is to breathe fire
    in a realm of ice

    and worry becomes a stranger once again

    for there is nothing
    so reassuring
    as when I calm my mind
    and can hear Her speaking to me”

    Delightful read, truly delightful.

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Love how she’s his calming place, his home. The image of her cupping his heart, is extremely beautiful.

  8. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Was just gonna comment here when you said goodnight. I think E needs to clone 4 of you then… 😉
    This is beautiful, lovely man. ❤️

  9. Purpleanais says:

    Dearest Eric, your words have lost none of their power – beautiful! ❤

  10. Emily says:

    Amazing, Eric ❤

  11. Always a pleasure to read you ❤️

  12. Heartafire says:

    Beautiful Eric; banners from the ramparts of z fortress …awesome!:)

  13. Aishwarya says:

    Eric you are a magician! 🙂
    You create imagery that is long lasting and stays in my thoughts for a long long time 🙂

  14. thefeatheredsleep says:

    IF someone said they were not a romantic and IF that were true and IF they read YOU then they would SOON realize that they WERE a romantic because you breathe LIFE into days of old with such a potency that I think the hardest heart would want to feel what you make the rest of us who are not afraid to fall on the floor fainting, feel. You’re a bard of the olden days, come back through the mists. I’m certain of it. I actually read with my mouth hanging open sometimes it’s quite unflattering to look at but testimony to the excellence that is YOU

Leave a Reply

