Favor…

LadysFavor

God’s Speed aka Lady’s Favor by Edmund Blair Leighton

This silk sash
a token
an endorsement
of her affection
signified
in scarlet
the color of pain
and as such
in poetic congruity
with the color
of my heart
centered behind a wall
of steel
in my chest
the culmination of
my own personal
via dolorosa
an agony there
that attempts to
overthrow my honor
the solemn and sober desire
to dismount this equine war machine
and embrace her
engulf her completely
like an ocean wave
to collect her in arms
that are battle weary and full of hope
and cinched tightly
as the knot she affixes upon my arm
duty be damned
I’ll pull the stars from the heavens
and place them at her bedside
where they do rightly belong
for what good ever
was a lone oak?
sturdy and strong
amid the wide open nothingness
of the plains
except to offer shelter
from scorching sun or pelting rain
but ever to stand alone
as the occasional companion
vanishes over the horizon
what good
has ever come
from a ragged ribbon
dangling from its powerful arm
left dry-rotten and faded
a relic and a shadow
of a time
when someone stood beneath
its great mantle
perhaps a promise
that they will return again?
but for all its great wisdom
the tree can find no way
to unremember
as I can find now way
to uncare, unfeel or ungive
and so we stand
the sentinel oak and I
and we offer what we can
and we sigh
as the weight of ribbons
holds our boughs
to the ground

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Favor…

  1. Lisa T says:

    Impeccable 🙂

  2. Heartafire says:

    Incredible!

  3. Elizabeth Helmich says:

    I feel the weight of each word my dear poet. Stunning. ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. Geetha B says:

    Ravishing Eric. Absolutely beautiful!

  5. Rita says:

    Love it, Brother! Love it ❤

  6. maharedwynn says:

    Magnificent! ❤️

  7. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Okay so here’s the deal. I basically want a book of these medieval styled poems, they are every bit as remarkable as those we read and call classics. YOU MUST DO THIS! You owe the world! You don’t understand, you’re not just a blogger you’re a POET and you need to climb up and publish these somehow! The world is dying and it needs to think back to times of beautiful things and real things. You have this uncanny ability to translate the present into the past. I have no idea how you do it but so well it’s unreal. UNREAL

    • Eric says:

      I don’t know what to say, Shieldmaiden. You’ve made me shed a tear…and it is a beautiful thing. Thank you so much for the love and affection you show me and my work. It means so very much.

  8. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful! Lovely and poignant.

    Goodnight, dear Eric. ❤️

  9. How spectacular is this write! I think this must be one of my favourite of yours! ❤️

Leave a Reply

